Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Arizona?
Yes. Insurance companies are allowed to check your credit and use that information when determining your rates or eligibility for coverage. Companies use your score along with other factors when developing your “insurance score.”
Does Arizona offer a good-driver discount?
Good drivers in Arizona may qualify for reduced auto insurance rates. Because every insurance carrier offers different discounts, shop around to determine where you’ll save the most money. Some additional potential discounts include:
- Anti-Theft Devices
- Multiple Policies
- College Discounts
- Home Ownership
- Defensive Driving Course Completion
- Drivers Ed Courses
- Low Annual Mileage
- Good Student
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
Does Arizona allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes! Arizona motorists can use digital insurance cards as proof of appropriate coverage when pulled over or for any reason. Most carriers offer this option these days, but check with yours to confirm.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Failure to maintain insurance in Arizona can result in suspension of your registration or and/or driver’s license. You will need to obtain insurance and pay a fee in order to reinstate your driving privileges.
What are Arizona's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It is against the law for anyone to operate a motor vehicle in Arizona with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
Any at under 21 years old
Arizona is a “no-tolerance” state regarding underage drinking; any positive reading, no matter how low the BAC percentage, is grounds for a DUI charge.
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division classified DUIs by BAC, with a standard DUI requiring a BAC of 0.08% and an extreme DUI requiring a BAC of 0.15%.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Arizona?
If you’re pulled over for suspicion of DUI by an officer and refuse to take or fail a chemical or breathalyzer test, your license will typically be suspended for 12 months (1st offense) or 24 months (2nd refusal within 84 months).
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
The consequences of a DUI in Arizona are severe. Specific penalties depend on the type of DUI you’re convicted of, as well as some other factors. A standard DUI conviction may result in jail time, a fine of $1,250, and mandatory completion of drug and alcohol screening, treatment, and education. Community service and installation of an ignition interlock device may also be required.
Does Arizona offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
A variety of driver courses are available in Arizona. Some of these (most commonly the defensive driving courses) can be taken to reduce your insurance premiums. Other courses may be necessary to reduce points on your driver’s license or to become eligible for license reinstatement after suspension or revocation.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Arizona car insurance?
Many options can help you qualify for lower cost Arizona car insurance. Most importantly, avoid lapses in coverage and maintain a clean driving record free of accidents and moving violations. Because your credit score is a factor when determining your premium, monitor your score and be proactive about raising or maintaining it. Finally, shop around and compare rates and discounts with a variety of carriers before choosing one to insure your vehicle.