Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Indiana?
Yes. In fact, according to WalletHub, premiums in Indiana fluctuate more than nearly every other location in the country based on a driver’s credit score.
Does Indiana offer a good-driver discount?
Indiana insurance companies reward good drivers with lower insurance rates. This discount is generally reserved for motorists who have had no moving violations or at-fault accidents in several years. But being a safe driver isn’t the only way to save. Indiana drivers may qualify for other discounts, such as:
- Premium Paid in Full
- Good Student
- Owning a Home
- Multiple Cars
- Multiple Lines
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
Does Indiana allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes, digital proof of insurance has been legal in the state since 2013. Drivers can show evidence of financial responsibility using a smartphone app provided by their insurance company.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
If you’re caught driving without the proper amount of insurance in Indiana, your driver’s license can be immediately suspended for 90 days to 1 year.
What are Indiana’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal for people to drive a vehicle in Indiana with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ for 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ for under 21 years old
In Indiana, you can be charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) if you have a BAC or any illegal drugs in your system. This is true even if your driving ability seems intact. You can also be charged if you drive while impaired, no matter what amount of alcohol or drugs you’ve consumed.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Indiana?
If you’re driving a vehicle in Indiana, you’ve agreed to a chemical test to determine how much alcohol is in your system. Refusing to consent to this test will result in suspension of your driver’s license.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Penalties for an OWI or DUI charge are stiff in Indiana. First-time offenders may face 60 days to 1 year in prison, $500 to $5,000 in fines, and up to 2 years with a suspended license. These increase with subsequent offenses, and by a third offense, and ignition interlock device is typically mandated.
While most states have a “lookback” period in which they count prior convictions in determining whether an offense is a repeat offense often 3 or 5 years), Indiana courts consider two periods—5 and 10 years—when sentencing.
Does Indiana offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Most drivers take driver improvement courses to remove points from their license, but you may also be able to complete one to qualify for discounts on your auto insurance. Just make sure any course you take is approved by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Indiana car insurance?
Many drivers opt to risk a higher deductible in exchange for lower monthly premiums. As noted above, as an Indiana resident, your rates are more affected by your credit score than any other state’s. So, monitor your credit score regularly for mistakes and work to improve your credit or maintain it if your score’s already high.
And remember to be a diligent comparison shopper… which you can do now with the click of a button!