Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Kansas?
Insurance companies in Kansas do use your credit score as one factor in calculating how risky you are to insure. The lower your credit score, the greater a risk you’re considered to be. This yield higher rates.
Does Kansas offer a good-driver discount?
Drivers with clean records often qualify for discounts through their carriers. Ask if yours offers something along these lines. And while you’re at it, inquire about saving with other common auto insurance discounts, such as:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Kansas allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes it does. Gone are the days of scrambling to dig through your overflowing glove box to find your printed insurance card! Assuming your carrier provides an official digital card—and almost all of them do these days—you can request one and show it on your electronic mobile device if you’re pulled over.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
You must have continuous car insurance coverage on any registered vehicle in Kansas. The state takes violations seriously. Lapsed coverage puts you at risk of fines of at least $300, up to 6 months in jail, and license suspension until you can show proof of coverage. This is just for a first offense, and assuming the circumstances under which you’re found to be uncovered aren’t serious (as they would be if you’ve caused an accident). Repeat offenses and more serious circumstances increase the penalties.
What are Kansas’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to drive in Kansas at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
In Kansas, you face harsher DUI penalties if you’re not of the legal drinking age or if your BAC registers at 0.15% or higher.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Kansas?
You’re not allowed to refuse a breath, urine, or blood test to determine if you’re impaired by drugs or alcohol. The first time you refuse, your driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year and you’ll have to install an ignition interlock device for 2 years, and then there’s a $600 license reinstatement fee.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Various factors affect the penalties that follow a DUI conviction in Kansas. For example, if you cause an accident, if this isn’t your first DUI conviction, or if you have a child under 14 in the car during your infraction, the consequences become even more serious.
Here’s what you can expect with a first conviction with no other circumstances calling for increased penalties: either 48 hours of imprisonment or 100 hours of community service, compulsory completion of a drug and alcohol safety education course and/or treatment program, fines ranging from $500 to $1,000, additional administrative fees, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.
Find more extensive details about the state’s DUI penalties in this PDF from the Kansas Department of Transportation.
Does Kansas offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Many Kansas car insurance companies extend discounts to customers who elect to take a state-approved defensive driving course. These are the same courses drivers take when they accumulate too many points on their license or to prevent having points assessed following certain traffic violations. Ask your carrier if this is available to you, and be sure to find an approved in-person or online class through your local DMV, municipality, or county.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Kansas car insurance?
Sure, there are plenty of ways! We’ve already covered a number of possible discounts. Two other helpful tricks for getting lower rates are to pay upfront rather than in monthly installments and to take on a higher deductible. For long-term ways to cut your costs, maintain a high credit score and a clean driving record. But the most crucial thing is to be a diligent comparison shopper when selecting a new policy. Your savings over the course of a year can be huge if you shop around for the lowest quote!