Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Louisiana?
Yes, it is. Auto insurance carriers believe that the higher your credit score, the lower your risk of filing a claim. So, a customer’s credit score is a key factor in determining your quote. A higher score works in your favor, while a lower score tends to raise your rate.
Does Louisiana offer a good-driver discount?
Lots of carriers in Louisiana extend car insurance discounts to people who go a particular length of time without getting in an accident, being ticketed for a moving violation, and/or filing a claim. Ask your provider what they offer in this respect. You can also ask if they have other discounts, like:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Louisiana allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Louisiana does let you prove you have liability coverage by showing an official digital insurance card issued by your carrier. It’s a modern, convenient alternative to having to find your printed card in the glove compartment. However, it’s still a good idea to have one in there, just in case your phone’s dead when you get pulled over.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Knowingly operating a motor vehicle without insurance in Louisiana can come with steep penalties, including fines of $500 to $1,000, a suspended license, and a temporarily revoked registration. Consequences are generally harshest if you’re in an accident without coverage or lie about having coverage. While they aren’t always as harsh for briefly lapsed coverage, you’re still likely to face fines and lose your driving privileges until you show proof of coverage.
What are Louisiana's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Louisiana at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Louisiana’s driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws don’t just apply to driving under the influence of alcohol; you can also be convicted for driving under the influence of any narcotics or central nervous system stimulants. Also, if you register a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you’ll face harsher penalties.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Louisiana?
Under the state’s “implied consent” law, if you’re arrested for driving under the influence in Louisiana, you don’t have the right to refuse a breath, urine, or blood test at the request of a law enforcement officer. Doing so will result in having your license automatically revoked for 180 days if it’s your first refusal, or 545 days for subsequent refusals; you may apply for a hardship license after 3 months if—and only if—it’s your first refusal.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Your first DWI conviction in Louisiana comes with a 1-year license suspension and your second with a 2-year license suspension; these periods are doubled if your BAC is at least 0.15%.
A first offense also carries a 10-day to 6-month sentence in a parish jail. You may, however, be able to have some or all of the sentence excluded in exchange for completing a drug and alcohol treatment program and a driver improvement course, and for performing community service. The second offense carries a 30-day to 6-month sentence, with a 2-day mandatory minimum that can’t be suspended in the previously named ways.
You’ll also face fines and administrative fees, and possibly other penalties. Third and subsequent offenses become felony crimes and result in much more significant punishment.
Does Louisiana offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Completing a state-approved defensive driving course qualifies you for a car insurance discount from many carriers in Louisiana. Ask your representative, and if this discount is available to you, find an officially approved program through your local DMV.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Louisiana car insurance?
Louisiana may have some of the highest average auto insurance rates in the nation, but smart consumers can find plenty of ways to bring down their costs. We’ve gone over a number of potential discounts on this page, and also pointed out that raising your credit score works in your favor. Also, make a trade-off for a lower premium by taking a higher deductible. Paying upfront rather than month by month also usually gets you a lower quote. The most critical part of lowering your insurance, however, is to comparison shop for the lowest rate.