Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Maryland?
Maryland allows insurers to consider your credit score when determining your insurance premium, with some limitations. A poor credit score or history can significantly increase how much you pay for a new policy, but a drop in your score cannot be used to increase your premium once it has been established.
Does Maryland offer a good-driver discount?
Yes, Maryland offers discounts to good drivers. A good driver is typically one who has not had any traffic accidents or violations in the past three years. Other common discounts include:
- Safety Devices
- Anti-Theft Devices
- Multiple Policies
- Good Student
- Driver Education Course Completion
- Employee or Membership Discounts
- Home Ownership
Does Maryland allow the use of digital insurance cards?
As the 35th state to allow electronic insurance cards, Maryland permits drivers to show evidence of insurance on their mobile device when asked for proof of coverage by a law enforcement officer. Drivers may still use paper cards, if desired.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
It’s against the law to drive while uninsured in Maryland. If your coverage lapses, you’ll receive a fine that increases the longer you’re without coverage, up to $2,500 per vehicle. Additionally, your registration will be suspended, and driving with a suspended registration can lead to your vehicle being impounded and other penalties.
What are Maryland’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal for individuals to operate a vehicle in Maryland with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ for 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ for under 21 years old
Maryland’s impaired driving laws are strict and aggressively enforced. You can be found impaired while under the influence of legal as well as illegal drugs, including alcohol, prescription medications, over-the-counter drugs, and recreational drugs.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Maryland?
Refusal to take a test ordered to determine your blood alcohol or drug concentration levels can result in confiscation of your driver’s license. This same penalty applies if you fail a chemical test.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Potential penalties for driving while impaired in Maryland include driver’s license suspension or revocation, CDL disqualification, fees, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, points on your license, jail time, mandatory participation in a drug or alcohol abuse program, and more.
Does Maryland offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Maryland’s Driver Improvement Program (DIP) is in place to provide education and training for those whose driving records or court appearances have required it. Some carriers may offer discounts on their coverage for completion of these classes; ask your representative.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Maryland car insurance?
Yes! To reduce your insurance premiums, inquire about all the possible discounts, consider paying your full bill up front instead of in monthly installments, and maintain a good driving record and credit history. And, of course, the best way to save is by shopping around and comparing rates.