Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Michigan?
Yes. Insurance companies use your credit score to evaluate your risk of filing a claim. It is generally combined with other factors, such as driving record, type of car, and location to determine your insurance score and premium.
Does Michigan offer a good-driver discount?
Insurance companies in Michigan may offer a discount to good drivers. Motorist without a moving violation or at-fault accident during the past three years typically meet the criteria for good or safe driver discounts. Additionally, Michigan drivers may qualify for a variety of other discounts, including:
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Good Student
- Home Ownership
- Multiple Lines
- Passive Restraint
- Student Away at School
- Vehicle Safety
Does Michigan allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes, Michigan drivers can use their phone or other mobile device to show proof of insurance when pulled over.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
You’re required to carry auto insurance in Michigan. Coverage lapses can result in misdemeanor charges, fines of up to $500, license suspension, jail for up to one year, and more.
What are Michigan’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to operate a vehicle in Michigan with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ for 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ for under 21 years old
Michigan has various types of DUI charges, including Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Under Age 21 Operating with Any Bodily Alcohol Content (Zero Tolerance), and Operating with Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD).
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Michigan?
If stopped by an officer who suspects you’re driving while impaired or intoxicated, you may be asked to undergo a Preliminary Breath Test (PBT). Failure to take this test can result in a civil infraction charge and a fine of $150 plus court costs. If you’re under 21, you’ll also have 2 points added to your record.
If arrested, you’re required to undergo a chemical test to measure your BAC and the presence of drugs in your system. Like most states, Michigan has an Implied Consent law that states all drivers have given consent to a chemical test. If you refuse this test, you may receive 6 points on your license, which will be suspended.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Michigan’s DUI laws require courts to decide court cases within 77 days of arrest and mandate a 6-month suspension of driving privileges, even following a first conviction. Additional penalties may include up to 1 year of jail time, community service, successful completion of a rehabilitation program, installation of an ignition interlock device, and various fines and fees. If you cause harm or death while driving under the influence, the penalties are much more severe.
Does Michigan offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Driver improvement courses can help keep your insurance premiums low by preventing points from being assessed on your license following a violation. Some insurance companies may also offer discounts for voluntary completion of defensive driving courses.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Michigan car insurance?
In Michigan, your credit score is given significant weight in determining your rates, so monitor your credit report for errors and work to raise a low score or maintain a high one. Coordinating your health and disability benefits with your no-fault policy will reduce your insurance rates, too. In addition, maintain a clean driving record, choosing a higher deductible, and shop around for the best rates to lower your premiums.
What is the MCCA fee?
Insured Michigan drivers must pay a fee called Michigan’s Catastrophic Claims Association fee. This unique fee makes sure that all insured drivers have unlimited medical coverage if injured in a traffic collision.