Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Minnesota?
Yes, it is. Because insurance carriers believe people with lower credit scores are more likely file a claim, they typically charge more for a poor credit history. Your credit is only one factor used in determining your insurance premium, but it can have a significant impact on your rates.
Does Minnesota offer a good-driver discount?
Yes. There are a variety of good-driver discounts available through insurance carriers, and these can substantially reduce the cost of your auto insurance. It pays to be a responsible and safe motorist in Minnesota.
Other discounts Minnesota drivers may qualify for include:
- Full Pay
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Utility Discount
Does Minnesota allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes, Minnesota drivers can provide proof of auto insurance by showing law enforcement officers their insurance information on a cell phone or other electronic mobile device.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
If you fail to maintain the state’s required level of insurance coverage on your vehicle, you may be required to obtain new insurance and pay a fine to reinstate your driving privileges. This is the case if your insurance is canceled, if you fail to renew, or if you forget to pay your premium.
Do I need insurance for rental cars?
Minnesota law requires all auto insurance policies to provide a minimum of $35,000 coverage for damage to and loss of use of a rental car. This amount is without a deductible. Drivers renting a car in Minnesota must be informed of this coverage.
What are Minnesota's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Minnesota at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Any amount of detectable alcohol in a person under age 21 will result in a DWI charge.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Minnesota?
Minnesota’s “implied consent” law requires you to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if you’re arrested for DWI. Refusal to take one of these tests will not save you from arrest; law enforcement officers can arrest anyone suspected of driving while impaired, and test refusal will result in a 1-year revocation of your license.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
You can be charged with a felony in Minnesota if you’re arrested for your fourth DWI within 10 years, if you’ve previously been convicted of a felony DWI, or if you have a prior felony conviction for a DWI-related criminal injury or vehicular manslaughter.
Penalties for a DWI depend on whether any injuries or deaths occur and whether or not you’ve been convicted of impaired driving in the past. Penalties range from suspension of your driver’s license to 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
Does Minnesota offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Minnesota state law gives people age 55 and older a 10% discount on their auto insurance for 3 years after completing an approved defensive driving course. But people of all ages may qualify for discounts through their insurance carrier for completing one of these courses. For more information on defensive driving courses, visit the Minnesota Safety Council’s website.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Minnesota car insurance?
Many factors affect your insurance premium, such as age and gender, added coverages, mileage, location, driving record, discounts, deductibles, and more. Your credit history can also play a role. Some of these things are out of your control, but maintaining a clean driving record, asking for all available discounts, and improving your credit score can reduce the cost of your car insurance. And, your savings over the course of a year can be huge if you shop around for the lowest quote!