Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Missouri?
Yes. Insurance companies associate low credit scores with higher probability of filing a claim. Your credit score is one of a number of factors used to devise something called your “insurance score.” It’s a system for carriers to estimate the risk of insuring a particular customer, and therefore what they want to charge them. Raising your credit score (or keeping up a high one) helps you get a better deal on your coverage.
Does Missouri offer a good-driver discount?
Missouri motorists who’ve maintained a clean driving record free of accidents and tickets for moving violations for a certain number of years may qualify for a good-driver discount from their car insurance provider. Ask your representative if this is available and what the requirements are. And while you’re at it, also inquire about other common discounts, such as:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Missouri allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Good news, Missouri residents: If you haven’t heard, yes, since mid 2013, you’ve been permitted to show digital proof of coverage on your smartphone or another mobile device. Obtain a digital insurance card from your carrier and no more worrying about finding that printed card in your overstuffed glove box. But it’s still wise to have one in there, just in case your phone isn’t charged or isn’t cooperating when you need to produce proof.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
If you drive without at least the minimum required liability insurance, your driving privileges may be suspended, you’ll face some fines, and you’ll have four points assessed to your driver’s license. Keep in mind that it only takes eight points within an 18-month period to lose your driving privileges in Missouri.
What are Missouri's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Missouri at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Learn more about the state’s driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws, processes, and penalties on the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Missouri?
Missouri, like most states nowadays, has an implied consent law that requires all motorists to submit to a chemical detection test at the request of a police officer. Refusing to submit results in loss of driving privileges for 1 year. Then, you’ll have to go through the state’s 3 steps to get your license reinstated.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Conviction of a DWI offense in Missouri comes with criminal and administrative penalties. For a first offense, points will be assessed to your license, and it will be suspended for 90 days. However, you can apply for restricted driving privileges. You may face various fines and fees, as well. Prior drug or alcohol-related convictions within a 5-year period increase your penalties as a repeat offender.
Does Missouri offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Missouri’s Driver Improvement Program (DIP) offers courses that can, in many counties, prevent you from having points assessed to your driver’s license following certain types of tickets. If you complete one of these courses voluntarily and not in conjunction with a violation, your car insurance company may give you a break on your rate. It’s pretty common, but check with your carrier first to make sure this is something it offers.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Missouri car insurance?
Everyone loves to save money, and there are plenty of ways to save on your auto coverage. Carriers serving Missouri residents typically have a wide assortment of discounts available, many of which we’ve discussed above. Remember, a good credit score and a clean driving record are very useful for keeping your rates down. Also, if you can pay off a term of coverage upfront instead of in monthly installments, you usually get a lower rate. Take as high a deductible as you can, too, as your carrier will trade off with a lower premium. The most effective way to cut your car insurance cost, though, is to thoroughly comparison shop for the best quote when you’re in the market for a new policy.