Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Montana?
Yes, it is. Insurance carriers use your credit score as a major factor when determining how much you’ll pay for your car insurance. And in some cases, very poor credit scores may even prevent you from obtaining standard insurance. This is because carriers believe low credit scores mean you’re more likely to file a claim against your policy.
Does Montana offer a good-driver discount?
Montana motorists may qualify for good-driver discounts, depending on their insurance carrier. Most insurers offer some level of discount for safe driving, with most requiring three years without an accident or moving violation. Ask your auto insurance carrier what discounts you’re eligible for. In addition to a good-driver discount, you may qualify for one of the following money-savers:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Montana allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Montana held out longer than many states, but law enforcement will now accept proof of coverage on your mobile device. Just make sure your insurance company offers digital insurance cards.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Allowing your insurance to lapse in Montana is serious, and motorists who drive without insurance can be punished with fines, suspension of their driver’s license, and even imprisonment. Plus, having a misdemeanor conviction for lapsed insurance coverage on your driving record can have a major impact on your future insurance rates.
What are Montana's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Montana at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Drivers with blood levels of 5 ng/ml of Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol or more are presumed to be too impaired to drive safely. A person can be convicted of DUI with a THC level below 5 ng/ml if there is sufficient evidence of impairment. This applies to all commercial and noncommercial drivers, including those registered as cardholders with Montana’s Marijuana Program.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Montana?
Montana’s implied consent law means you must submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if suspected of driving while impaired. Failure to do so can result in suspension of your driver’s license for up to 1 year, depending on the number of refusals on your driving record.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Penalties for driving under the influence are severe in Montana, and they increase with each subsequent offense. Drivers convicted of DUI may face jail time, fines, suspension of driving privileges, points on their license, an increase in insurance premiums, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, and forced participation in a sobriety program.
You can be convicted of a DUI in Montana even if your BAC is within legal limits, and a DUI goes on your record for life.
Does Montana offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Montana law states that insurance companies must offer a premium discount if you’re over 55 years old and have completed a defensive driving course. Most insurance companies also offer discounts to those younger than 55 years old. Check with your carrier to see how much money you can save by voluntarily taking a state-approved driver improvement course.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Montana car insurance?
Annual car insurance premiums are on the rise in most states around the country, and Montana is no exception. While rates vary considerably based on age, gender, vehicle type, location, and other factors out of your control, there are some things you can do to reduce the cost of your auto insurance. Maintaining a healthy credit score and clean driving record, choosing a higher deductible, inquiring about available discounts, and shopping around to compare rates are excellent ways to pay less for your car insurance.