Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in New Jersey?
Yes. Auto insurance companies in New Jersey use consumer credit scores as part of their formula for determining risk and premium offers. There are plenty of other variables, but generally speaking, a higher score helps you get lower rates.
Does New Jersey offer a good-driver discount?
Most carriers in the state are happy to reward and incentivize responsible, cautious driving. Ask yours if they offer a good-driver discount and what you need to qualify. Usually, it’s a period of 3 or more years without an accident and/or a moving violation. Other discounts you can inquire about include:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does New Jersey allow the use of digital insurance cards?
New Jersey joined the digital age in mid 2015, when it enacted a law allowing state drivers to show a carrier-issued digital insurance card on their smartphone, tablet, or other electronic mobile device.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
New Jersey has some of the harshest penalties in the country for driving without insurance. These may include at least several hundred dollars in fines, plus a few hundred dollars in associated fees, as well as up to a 1-year license suspension, community service, and possible vehicle impounding. And that’s just for a first-time offense. Aggravating factors like causing an accident or injuries without coverage makes things worse.
What are New Jersey's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
New Jersey bumps up DUI penalties at 0.10% BAC. This is a little more aggressive than many other states, where it’s common to increase penalties at a reading of 0.15%.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in New Jersey?
New Jersey’s implied consent law means that refusing a breath, urine, or blood test comes with automatic consequences. For a first-time refusal, these include up to several hundred dollars in fines and fees, mandatory completion of an alcohol education course, and installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 months to 1 year.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Many aggravating factors can up the consequences of a DUI conviction in New Jersey. These include—but aren’t limited to—having a BAC reading of 0.10% or greater, having prior DUI arrests, causing an accident or injury, and driving in possession of an open container or drugs.
Penalties for a first-time offender without aggravating circumstances may include around $1,800 in fines, fees, and surcharges, as well as up to 30 days in jail, community service, and compulsory completion of a drunk driving course.
Find more details about DUI convictions and penalties on the State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission website’s DUI page.
Does New Jersey offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Many carriers in New Jersey will extend a discount to you if you voluntarily complete a state-approved defensive driving course.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my New Jersey car insurance?
We’ve already discussed a number of discounts on this page, and keeping your credit score up and your driving record free of accidents and moving violations helps keep your rates down, too. Also, the higher your deductible, the lower your premium. But the single most effective way to reduce what you pay each month is to comparison shop for the lowest quotes on coverage that meets the needs of your vehicle and driver’s lifestyle.