Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Oregon?
If you have a good credit score, you’ll be happy to learn that yes, insurance companies consider it when calculating your premium. If you have a low score, it works against you. Insurers have found a correlation between lower scores and higher risk of filing a claim. Only three states prohibit carriers from referencing credit scores for this purpose: Massachusetts, California, and Hawaii.
Does Oregon offer a good-driver discount?
Good drivers are desirable auto insurance customers! Most carriers reward and incentivize safe road behavior with good-driver discounts based on a certain number of years without an accident (and often without a moving traffic violation, as well). Ask your representative about this, as well as other possible discounts that may apply, like:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Oregon allow the use of digital insurance cards?
It should come as no surprise that Oregon was an early adapter of this new tech trend! Rummaging around in your overflowing glove box is a thing of the past for state residents, who’ve been able to show a carrier-issued digital proof of coverage for years now.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
If you’re caught driving without insurance, the State may charge you fines, suspend your driving privileges, and tow your car at your own expense. Should you be prosecuted and convicted for driving without coverage, you’ll also be on the hook for court costs and be required to show proof of financial responsibility for 3 years. If you’re involved in an accident without coverage, expect a 1-year license suspension and having to show proof of financial responsibility for 3 years after it’s reinstated.
What are Oregon’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Oregon at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
Any for under 21
Oregon’s driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) law includes a no-tolerance policy for underage drinkers. People under 21 years old who register any alcohol on a chemical test are considered to have failed it.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Oregon?
By driving in Oregon, you’ve legally consented to taking a breath, blood, or urine chemical screening test at the request of a police officer who arrests you for suspected DUII. Refusing to comply is admissible as evidence in court and results in on-the-spot confiscation of your driver’s license, issuance of a 30-day permit, and a 1-year suspension of driving privileges. However, if you have any drug or alcohol-related convictions on your record within the past 5 years, the suspension will be for 3 years. Refusal may also result in installation of an ignition interlock device.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Penalties depend on the number of previous drug or alcohol-related convictions on your record within the last 5 years and a variety of other considerations. Even for a first driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) violation, consequences may include suspension of driving privileges for at least 1 year followed by mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, fines and fees, compulsory completion of a substance abuse treatment program, and possible jail time or community service.
Eligible first-time offenders may have the DUI charge dismissed by meeting the terms of Oregon’s Driving Under the Influence Diversion Program.
Does Oregon offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
In Oregon, drivers age 55 and up can complete a State-approved Mature Driver Program to qualify for up to 15% off their premium for 3 years; they may also complete a refresher course within 1 year to renew the discount. Younger drivers may also be offered similar discounts by their carrier.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Oregon car insurance?
Of course! We’ve already gone over a number of potential discounts and incentives you can look into, and these are great ways to save. Take on a higher deductible and you’ll get a lower premium, too. If you’re financially able to pay off an entire term of coverage upfront, it’s cheaper than paying in monthly installments. Also, don’t skip the crucial stage where you compare quotes from leading Oregon carriers to ensure you get the best deal possible on the levels and types of coverage you need.