Will my credit score be used to obtain car insurance in Pennsylvania?
Yes and, unfortunately, car insurance companies in your state do not have to reveal to you how they are going about setting your rate. Here are a few life events and other things you can do to keep your rate down.
Is there a good-driver discount in Pennsylvania?
It is always best to ask your selected car insurance company about good-driver and other discounts to obtain cheap auto insurance in Pennsylvania! Possible discounts include:
- Good student
- Safety features
- Students with good grades
- Good driver
Can I use my digital insurance card in Pennsylvania?
Yes! Getting pulled over in Pennsylvania is slightly less panicky since you don’t have to locate the hard copy of your insurance card for the officer. BUT, be mindful of unlocking your phone to access your digital insurance card before the officer has determined whether you were cell-phoning and driving!
What is uninsured motorist coverage and is it required in Pennsylvania?
Uninsured motorist coverage protects you from damage caused by other drivers without insurance and hit-and-runs. It is an optional coverage in Pennsylvania!
What happens if I don’t have insurance or my coverage lapses?
Since liability insurance is a minimum requirement in your state (and most others), there are penalties for being caught driving without it. The fines are as high as $300 and you risk registration suspension, license suspension and an impounded car. Don’t take the chance!
What are Pennsylvania's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentages limits under the driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It is illegal for an individual to operate a motor vehicle in Pennsylvania with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ @ 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.01%+ @ < 21 years old
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Pennsylvania?
According to Pennsylvania’s implied consent law, you agree to chemical testing upon receiving your driver’s license if asked. Refusal of chemical testing indicates guilt and you will received the highest range of DUI penalties. Your license will be immediately suspended for 12 months upon refusal.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania?
If convicted of a DUI, say goodbye to being financially savvy, and quite possibly, to your freedom. If arrested, you’ll face varying degrees of jail time, fines, driver’s license suspensions, community service, DUI school and reinstatement requirements. The financial obligations extend beyond the DUI ticket to court costs, attorney fees, higher insurance rates, SR-22 filing and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) to serve as a breathalyzer test each time you start your vehicle.
What does Pennsylvania’s Three Strikes Law state?
According to 42 Pa C.S. §9714, a third strike offender faces a minimum of 25 years imprisonment, and a possibility of life without parole. We know you’ll concur, there is no text message, sandwich or other distraction worth the life of another person, and your own freedom.