Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in South Carolina?
Yes, South Carolina allows car insurers to use an insurance credit score when determining premiums. This insurance credit score is calculated based on several factors, including your credit, financial standing, and other risk factors.
Does South Carolina offer a good-driver discount?
Good drivers qualify for discounts in South Carolina, but the savings don’t stop there. Depending on your lifestyle, age, driving record, and policy management, you may qualify for several discounts that can add up to a significant savings on your premium. Some of these discounts include:
- Passive Restraint
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- New Car Discount
- Economy Car Discount
- Utility Discount
- Farm Vehicle
- Full Pay
- Multiple Policy
- Multiple Car
- Senior Adult
- Resident Student
- Good Student
- Safe Driver
- Defensive Driver
- Accident Free
- Home Ownership
- Vehicle Safety
Does South Carolina allow the use of digital insurance cards?
South Carolina permits drivers to show proof of insurance digitally on a smartphone or other mobile device. This environmentally friendly law was passed, in part, to cut down on unnecessary mailings and paper. Drivers without the technology to show this form of proof must carry an insurance ID card in their vehicle.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
If your insurance lapses, your insurance provider will notify the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles electronically. You’ll then receive a letter asking you to verify new insurance within 20 days. Failure to do so will result in suspension of your driver’s license, license plate, and vehicle registration.
If your coverage lapses and you’re unable to provide proof of insurance when pulled over, you may be issued a citation and subject to a fine or jail time. If you then fail to provide proof within 30 days, you may face indefinite suspension of your driver’s license. Payment of a $100 fine is required to reinstate your license.
What are South Carolina’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in South Carolina with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
In South Carolina, you can be charged with a DUI if your BAC is over the limit, even if your driving ability does not appear to be impaired. DUI convictions remain on your record for 10 years.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in South Carolina?
South Carolina law states that if you’re driving a motor vehicle, you have already given consent to a chemical test for the purpose of determining your blood alcohol levels. Refusing to take this test can result in suspension of your driver’s license for 6 months for a first offense and 9 months for a second or third offense.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
You cannot plead down a DUI charge in South Carolina, even for your first offense. Penalties for driving under the influence depend on the number of previous offenses, but may include license suspension, community service, jail time, installation of an ignition interlock device, and more.
Does South Carolina offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Many South Carolina insurance companies reward drivers who have voluntarily completed a driver improvement course. Find out what discounts your insurance company offers, then sign up for a state-approved course.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my South Carolina car insurance?
There are many ways to reduce your car insurance premium, both in the short and long term. Start by improving your credit score and maintaining a clean driving record, and then opt for higher deductibles and larger upfront payments when taking out a new policy. You can also save by asking for discounts, reducing coverage on older cars, and shopping around for the best rates and discounts.