Nope! Hawaii, along with California and Massachusetts, is one of only three states that prohibits car insurance providers from using consumer credit scores as part of their formula for determining rates.
Lots of car insurance companies offer good-driver discounts to attract safe drivers as customers and to incentivize responsible driving. If you’re careful to keep a clean driving record for a certain amount of time (often 3 years with no accidents or moving violations), your carrier may give you a break on your premium. You’ll have to ask if this is available and what the criteria are. And while you’re at it, inquire about other possible discounts, like:
- Teen Driver
- Distant Student
- Alternative Fuel
- Defensive Driver
- Good Student
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Multiple Line
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
Yes. As of mid 2016, the option of showing digital proof of coverage on a mobile device became available to Hawaii residents. Make sure you get an official electronic insurance card from your carrier.
If at any time you don’t have coverage on a registered vehicle, you’re legally obligated to surrender its registration and license plate to your County Director of Finance. Failure to do so and driving without coverage will result in a license suspension, fines, and fees.
It’s against the law to operate a motor vehicle in Hawaii with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Hawaii’s OVUII (operating a vehicle under the influence of intoxicants) laws state that you do not need to be obviously impaired to be arrested and convicted if your BAC is at least 0.08%. At the same time, you can be arrested and convicted with a lower BAC level if the arresting officer believes that your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is impaired by a legal or illegal substance.
Like the rest of the country, Hawaii has an implied consent law. It establishes that all drivers in the state have, just by the act of acquiring a driver’s license, consented to take a breath, urine, or blood test at the request of a police officer who suspects impaired driving. Failure to comply results in a 1-year license suspension for the first offense, and lengthier suspensions for subsequent refusals.
The more prior convictions you have, the harsher the DUI or OVUII penalties. For a first-time offense, you may face penalties such as at least 72 hours of community service and/or 2 to 5 days imprisonment, license suspension for 90 days to 1 year, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, $150 to $1,500 in fines, and surcharges and fees.
Drivers who complete a defensive driving course voluntarily—not in conjunction with a court order or traffic ticket—frequently get a break on their premium from their carrier. Ask your agent if this sort of discount is available to you, and make sure to get a list of State-approved classes that qualify.
Indeed there are. If you’ve followed along over the course of this page, you’ve picked up on numerous incentives and discounts that may be available to you. Keeping a clean driving record and maintaining continuous coverage help, too. Also, if you’re able and willing to pay for a complete coverage term upfront, instead of on a monthly payment plan, you’ll get a slightly lower rate. Reduced premiums are offered in exchange for higher deductibles, as well.
Most importantly, though: Comparison shop for the lowest quotes on auto coverage in Hawaii every time your policy comes up for renewal. It’s the most effective way to lower your car insurance costs without sacrificing quality of coverage.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are both optional in Hawaii, not required. They offer payment for injuries caused by a driver with no auto insurance, or not enough auto insurance, respectively. Uninsured motorist coverage is also applied in hit-and-run accidents.