Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in New Hampshire?
Yes. Insurance companies in New Hampshire can review your credit history and adjust your rate based on what they find in it.
Does New Hampshire offer a good-driver discount?
You may qualify for discounts from various insurance companies when buying or renewing an auto insurance policy. One of these is a discount for safe driving and generally requires an accident-free period of several years. Ask about available discounts when shopping around for coverage, as these can add up to a significant savings on your monthly premium. Some common discounts available in New Hampshire include:
- Low Annual Mileage
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- Driver Education Course
- Good Student
- Multiple Lines
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
Does New Hampshire allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes, you may display proof of insurance on your electronic mobile device. However, New Hampshire is the only state where you’re not required to carry auto insurance. If you’re in an accident, you will be liable for the associated costs, though.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Insurance coverage is not mandatory in New Hampshire and therefore there is no penalty for a lapse in coverage. If you’re involved in an accident, are uninsured, and are unable to meet your financial responsibilities associated with the collision, there are serious consequences.
What are New Hampshire’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal for individuals to operate a vehicle in New Hampshire with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
If your BAC is 0.16% or higher in New Hampshire, you can be charged with aggravated DUI and face greater penalties, including longer jail time.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in New Hampshire?
As part of the state’s “implied consent” law, New Hampshire requires motorists to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if pulled over and suspected of driving while impaired. Failure to submit to a chemical test will result in license revocations for 180 days for a first refusal and no prior DWI conviction, and revocation for two years if there’s a prior refusal or DWI conviction.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Driving while impaired in New Hampshire carries a minimum penalty of license suspension for 90 days to 2 years. Other penalties include fees and fines, probation, jail time, community service, and more. The penalties you face depend on whether your impaired driving resulted in injury or death, whether you’re a repeat offender, and other circumstances at the time of arrest.
Does New Hampshire offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Defensive driving courses are an excellent way to reduce your insurance premiums while improving your driving skills. Most carriers offer this option, buy double check with yours. Any course you take should be approved by the state, or your insurance company may not accept your certificate of completion.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my New Hampshire car insurance?
Yes! First and foremost, be sure to comparison shop for the lowest rates. Choose a higher deductible in exchange for lower premium payments and, if possible, pay off a full policy term upfront instead of in monthly installments. Also, sign up for all possible discounts, and be careful to keep your credit score in check and your driving record clean.