Poor credit can make it difficult to receive the cheapest car insurance in New York, but each insurer has its own approach to dealing with driver credit problems. Shop around to get the best rates.
New York offers residents a discount on their auto insurance for being a good driver and remaining accident-free. This “Careful Driver” discount can save you a lot of money on your policy, so ask about it before signing your paperwork. Other potential discounts include:
- Family Plans
- Defensive Driving
- Green Vehicle Discounts
- Automatic Seat Belts/Air Bags
- Anti-Lock Brakes
- Daytime Running Lamps
- Good Student
- Home Ownership
- Military Discount
Yes! New York drivers are allowed to provide digital proof of insurance coverage. Proof of insurance should be present or immediately accessible at all times to avoid hefty fines.
If you experience a lapse in insurance coverage in New York State, your registration and/or driver’s license can be suspended. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you may be ticketed or arrested and your vehicle can be impounded.
It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle in New York with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
There are different levels of DUI in New York State. For more information about New York’s DUI laws, refer to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles Alcohol and Other Drugs web page.
Under New York’s “Implied Consent” law, driving a vehicle means you’ve consented to a blood, urine, or saliva test to measure your BAC. If you refuse to take the test, your driver’s license will be suspended and the refusal can be held against you as evidence of guilt when you go to court for alcohol or drug-related charges.
The consequences of being convicted of a DUI in New York are severe and depend on your age, blood alcohol level, and whether you were transporting a child at the time of your offense. Even a single DUI conviction can result in high fees, legal expenses, license suspensions, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, and even jail time.
Killing or harming another person due to alcohol or drug-related violation can result in thousands of dollars in fines and a maximum jail term of 15 years.
Yes. New York State offers a Point and Insurance Reduction Program, which includes a Defensive Driving or Accident Prevention Course, to help prevent loss of license and reduce the base rate of your car insurance premiums.
Reducing the cost of your New York auto insurance starts with keeping an eye on your credit score, shopping around and comparing insurance rates, and inquiring about your eligibility for all available discounts. Paying upfront, remaining accident-free, and avoiding coverage lapses will also keep your bill under control.
What is uninsured motorist coverage and is it required in New York?
Despite laws requiring all drivers to carry auto insurance, some people still choose to drive without it. As a result, it’s important for insured drivers to also carry uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to recover compensation following an accident with an uninsured driver. New York does not require underinsured motorist coverage, but it is highly recommended. The state does require uninsured motorist coverage.