Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Alaska?
Yes, insurance providers in Alaska can use your consumer credit information to decide whether or not to issue a policy and how much to charge you. Information in your credit report is used to determine how likely you are to file a claim. The higher the risk you’re considered, the more you’re charged.
While different insurance companies have different guidelines when it comes to identifying good drivers, most require several years free of accidents and moving violations. If you think you may qualify for a good-driver discount, speak with your insurance provider. And, while you’re at it, see what other discounts you may qualify for, such as:
- Anti-Theft Device
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Vehicle Safety
- Utility Discount
- Resident Student
- Passive Restraint
- New Car
- Multiple Policy
- Multiple Car
- Home Ownership
- Good Student
- Full Pay
If your vehicle is registered in a place where insurance is mandatory, you must have proof of insurance to show law enforcement upon being pulled over or after being involved in an accident. This proof of coverage can be in the form of a standard plastic or paper ID, or in digital form on your mobile device. Failure to provide proof of insurance in some form will result in a driver’s license suspension unless you submit proof of coverage to the DMV within 15 days.
Failure to maintain proper insurance in Alaska may result in the suspension of your driver’s license. You may also face the impounding of your vehicle and fines if your coverage lapses for any reason.
It’s against the law to drive in Alaska at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
Any for under 21 years old
Alaska has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under 21. If you’re 14 to 21 years old and have any measurable BAC when operating a motor vehicle, boat, or aircraft, you may face penalties that include fines, alcohol programs, jail time, and loss of your driver’s license.
Like other states, Alaska has an implied consent law. When you signed for your driver’s license, you agreed to submit to a chemical test if you’re suspected of driving under the influence. Refusal to submit to a preliminary breath test when asked by law enforcement is an infraction in the state of Alaska, and you may face fines, installation of an ignition interlock device, jail time, or other penalties.
The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Alaska are severe, and may include fines, court costs, probation, revocation of your driver’s license, installation of an ignition interlock device, increased insurance premiums, mandatory participation in an alcohol education program, jail time, and more. Considering how inexpensive a taxi is and how priceless a human life is, the choice to never drink and drive should be easy.
Alaska’s Division of Motor Vehicles approves numerous classroom and online driver improvement courses that motorists can take to remove points from their record, dismiss traffic tickets, and qualify for auto insurance discounts with most carriers. These courses build better driving habits and refresh your driving skills, so it makes sense that insurance companies want to reward voluntary participation.
The simplest way to reduce your Alaska car insurance costs is to ask your provider about discounts for good driving, eco-friendly vehicles, anti-theft devices, automatic payments, and more. You can also lower the cost of your premium by eliminating unnecessary coverage, maintaining a good credit score, opting for a higher deductible, and by taking a little time to shop around and compare quotes.
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is not required in Alaska but is recommended in the amounts of $50,000 bodily injury per person and $100,000 bodily injury per accident, along with property damage coverage in the amount of $25,000. This type of insurance protects motorists and passengers who are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver or one who flees the scene. Alaska requires this type of coverage to be rejected by the policyholder in writing.