Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Colorado?
Yes, your credit score is often considered when you apply for car insurance. It may affect both your eligibility for coverage and your premium.
Being a good driver in Colorado can save your household a lot on auto insurance. This discount is typically reserved for drivers who have had no moving violations or at-fault accidents in the past three years. In addition to this discount, Colorado drivers may qualify for a variety of other discounts, including:
- Teen Driver
- Distant Student
- Alternative Fuel
- Defensive Driver
- Good Student
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Multiple Line
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
Yes. Colorado drivers are allowed to show digital proof of insurance when pulled over. This can be in the form of an image or PDF file of your insurance card or policy certificate, and you can use a cell phone, tablet, or any other portable electronic device to show this evidence to a law enforcement officer.
Colorado requires you to carry auto insurance at all times. Coverage lapses may result in points being added to your driver's license, a fine of $500, suspension of your license, and community service.
It's illegal for individuals to operate a vehicle in Colorado with the following BAC percentages:
- .08%+ for 21 years old or older
- .04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
- .02%+ for under 21 years old
Although Colorado's BAC for DUI is 0.08, you can be charged with DWAI, or driving while ability impaired, if your BAC is 0.05% to 0.08%. For more information about Colorado's DUI laws, refer to this informative page, published by NOLO.
Colorado is one of many states with an "implied consent" law. This means that you automatically consent to field sobriety and chemical tests when you apply for a driver's license. Refusal to agree to these tests can result in the suspension of your license and other penalties.
The consequences of being convicted of a DUI in Colorado are severe and may include fines, probation, legal costs, jail time, and installation of an ignition interlock device. Additionally, your driver's license will be suspended and you may be required to take alcohol education classes or attend an addiction treatment program.
Young drivers can complete driver's education courses and older drivers can take defensive driving training to receive discounts on their auto insurance. Informed, safe drivers are less likely to get into accidents and file claims, so insurance companies are happy to reward safe drivers with financial savings.
Yes! Start by shopping around and comparing rates, and choose higher deductibles in exchange for lower premium payments. Better yet, pay your bill upfront, because most insurance companies charge more for setting up monthly installments. Other ways to save include keeping your credit score in check and signing up for all possible discounts when starting a new policy.
Marijuana use may be legal in Colorado, but that doesn't mean you can drive while under the influence of the drug. It is illegal, per state law, for motorists with five nanograms of active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in their whole blood to drive a vehicle. You can be prosecuted for any level of THC if a law enforcement officer believes you are impaired.
Additionally, the state's open container law prohibits driving with marijuana in the passenger area of your vehicle if the container has a broken seal or there's evidence the drug has been consumed. For more information on Colorado's marijuana laws, visit the Marijuana and Driving page on the CODOT website.
Although Colorado drivers are required to carry insurance, many motorists are the road are uninsured or underinsured. If you get into an accident with one of them and you don't have sufficient coverage, you may end up liable for repairs on your vehicle and medical bills. Uninsured motorist insurance is an optional coverage that offers financial protection against these types of out-of-pocket expenses.