It is. That’s good news if you have a good credit score, but it works against you if your score isn’t too hot. Carriers calculate your “insurance score” to figure out how much to charge you for your premium (or even if they want to offer you coverage at all). The insurance score takes a lot of personal factors into account, and your credit score is a significant one.
Car insurance companies love good drivers! Most seek to win them over as customers and to incentivize safe, claim-free driving by offering premium discounts to people who don’t get any tickets for moving violations or get into any accidents for a certain period of time (often, for at least 3 years). Other fairly standard discounts include:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Yes, it does. Get an official electronic insurance card from your carrier, and you can show it on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or other mobile devices. Consider keeping the original printed card in your vehicle anyway, just in case you experience technical difficulties when you need to produce proof of coverage.
It’s illegal to drive—or even to have a registered vehicle—with lapsed coverage. If you’re involved in a traffic stop or accident with lapsed coverage, your license will be suspended on the spot, and the attending law enforcement officer may confiscate your license plate. You have a 10-day period in which to show proof of coverage or financial responsibility; if you do, your citation and suspension will be overturned. Otherwise, they stand until you can show proof of coverage and pay a few fees for license reinstatement and registration renewal.
It’s against the law to operate a motor vehicle in Nebraska at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Per Nebraska’s DUI laws, you can be convicted even without a BAC reading, based on the testimony of the arresting law enforcement officer.
Nebraska has an implied consent law saying that all licensed drivers must submit to a breath, blood, or urine test at the request of a police officer who suspects drug- or alcohol-related impairment while operating a motor vehicle. Refusing to submit to such a test will result in the suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days.
DUI penalties in Nebraska depend on a number of factors, including the number of previous DUI convictions and aggravating circumstances like whether an accident or death was caused by the impaired driving, or if the BAC was over 0.15% at the time of the arrest.
Even first-time offenders without aggravating factors face 7 to 60 days in jail, up to $500 in fines (as well as other fees), installation of an ignition interlock device, and a suspended license.
The State offers driver education and improvement courses, but it’s up to your carrier whether they offer discounts for voluntarily completing one. Most do, so ask your representative if this is something that’s available to you. If so, choose one of the courses certified by the Nebraska DMV courses certified by the Nebraska DMV.
The number one way to limit what you pay for car insurance is to compare quotes from leading carriers when shopping for a new policy. Beyond that, be careful with your credit score and driving record, as both can have a significant effect on your premium. Ask about possible discounts, too, like those mentioned throughout this page, and trade off for a lower premium by taking a higher deductible.
Nebraska does require uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in the minimum amounts of $25,000 bodily injury per person and $50,000 bodily injury per accident. This type of insurance pays for damage and medical bills caused by a driver who doesn’t have auto insurance (or enough to cover the costs they cause). Fortunately, Nebraska has one of the lowest rates of uninsured drivers in the country, but the State still mandates this coverage. Arkansas does not require uninsured motorist coverage, but this insurance is an optional and recommended policy addition. Uninsured motorist coverage helps pay for property damage or injuries resulting from an accident caused by a motorist driving without coverage.