Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in South Dakota?
Yes, it is. Like in most states, insurers in South Dakota use your credit score when determining your insurance score. The insurance score is used to determine how much of a risk you are to cover and how much you pay for your policy.
Does South Dakota offer a good-driver discount?
Motorists with clean driving records may qualify for discounts through their insurance carriers. Ask your agent if you’re eligible for a savings on your premium. And, while you’re at it, find out what other discounts are available. Some possibilities may include:
- Accident Free
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Good Student
- Home Ownership
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Resident Student
- Vehicle Safety
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does South Dakota allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes, drivers in South Dakota are allowed to provide proof of coverage on their electronic mobile device if they don’t have a paper or plastic insurance ID card available. Motorists can continue to use traditional insurance cards if desired.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Driving without insurance is not tolerated in South Dakota, regardless of the reason for your lapse in coverage. Driving without liability insurance is a class 2 misdemeanor and can lead to fines, license suspension, or possibly jail time. You may also be classified as a high-risk driver, resulting in more expensive car insurance.
What are South Dakota's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in South Dakota at the following BAC percentages
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Even though a BAC of 0.08% is the legal limit for a DUI, you can be charged and found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol with a BAC of 0.05% and your driving is believed to be impaired. And, you don’t need to be driving to be charged with DUI in South Dakota. If you’re in your vehicle and the keys are within reach, you can be charged and convicted.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in South Dakota?
South Dakota has an implied consent law, which means you’ve already agreed to submit to a chemical screening by becoming a licensed driver. Refusing to submit to a blood, urine, or breath test can result in suspension of your driving privileges, fines, and additional penalties.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Consequences of a DUI in South Dakota depend on the level of alcohol in your blood and the number of times you’ve been convicted. First and second offenses are misdemeanors, but third and subsequent offenses are felonies.
Penalties range from suspension of driving privileges to mandatory court-approved chemical dependency counseling program participation, installation of an ignition interlock device, community service, fines, and jail time.
Does South Dakota offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Many carriers in South Dakota offer discounts to drivers who complete defensive driving or similar courses. Large discounts may be available to mature drivers and those under the age of 18. Ask your insurer if there’s a financial incentive to completing one of the State-approved driver improvement courses.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my South Dakota car insurance?
A big mistake many people make is automatically renewing their insurance policy without looking for new ways to save. Just because your previous policy was expensive, it doesn’t mean you must continue paying through the roof. Your credit score may have changed, points may have fallen off your license, or you may qualify for discounts you never even knew existed. Always ask for discounts when taking out a new policy, and don’t forget to shop around for the lowest quote!