SR22 Insurance in Ohio
The state of Ohio requires people with multiple traffic convictions to purchase a special certification. People with DUI convictions must also have the certification. The SR22 insurance is coverage that shows high-risk drivers carry enough insurance to pay for any accident they may cause. In this article, you'll learn about SR 22 and the legal requirements you must satisfy to obtain it.
You can find an affordable SR22 insurance Ohio policy using SmartFinancial. You'll get free insurance quotes from companies in your area after entering your zip code and answering a few questions.
What Is SR22 Insurance?
If Ohio’s BMV has suspended your driving privileges, you might have to purchase an SR22 policy to reinstate your license. These are certificates that prove your financial responsibility.
Some states require individuals to purchase SR22 policies when they’ve found that you are a high-risk driver. Law enforcement may make this determination after they’ve caught you driving without insurance. They will ask you to purchase an SR22 if you have received multiple traffic violations. Additionally, Ohio may require you to buy this insurance if you have a DUI conviction.
The state of Ohio mandates an SR 22 for high-risk drivers. This law ensures these individuals can pay for any damages and injuries if they cause an at-fault accident.
How Do I Meet Ohio’s SR 22 Requirement?
The only entity that can file your SR 22 certificate is your auto insurance company. The SR 22 serves as proof to the state of Ohio that you meet the following financial responsibility requirements:
- You have an owners SR22 insurance policy that meets Ohio’s minimum liability requirements.
- You purchased a nonowners auto insurance policy that meets the state’s liability requirements.
- You’ve obtained a financial responsibility (FR) bond.
To satisfy your SR22 insurance requirement, you’ll need a policy that has the following limits when you’re at-fault in an accident.
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
Your auto insurance company will file your SR22 certificate with Ohio’s BMV. Only insurers can fulfill this requirement. They submit the SR22 form online and the state’s BMV processes within three business days. Once the BMV processes your form, the BMV will send you a certification letter. This confirmation will also reinstate your license and driving privileges.
Drivers can also meet the SR22 requirement by obtaining a bond with an auto insurance company, the state or a surety entity. If you don’t own a vehicle, you can buy a non-owner SR22 insurance policy.
How Much Is SR22 Insurance in Ohio?
SR22 insurance typically raises your annual car insurance premium by about $380 in Ohio. These are higher prices compared to standard insurance rates. These premiums cost 70 percent more than Ohio residents pay for average insurance rates. The increase will depend on your traffic violation. If you have multiple ones or DUIs, it will raise your insurance rates significantly.
Additionally, your insurer may charge you a $15 - $25 filing fee to register your documentation with the state of Ohio.
Shopping around for a cheaper SR22 insurance policy can save you money. Several studies have proven that using SmartFinancial can cut your costs. Enter your zip code on this page to get started. We’ll provide you with multiple SR22 insurance quotes from insurers within your local area.
Find Affordable Car Insurance
What Are the Requirements for SR22 Insurance in Ohio?
The state of Ohio requires high-risk drivers to maintain SR22 insurance for three to five years. Ohio requires insurers to notify the BMV if you have a lapse in coverage.
If you don’t maintain your auto insurance continuously through this period, you could lose your driving privileges once more.
Ohio mandates all high-risk drivers to maintain these policies for the required number of years, without exception. If you move out of state, you’ll still need to keep up this minimum coverage. Individuals who don’t own vehicles must also purchase these policies.
If you don’t, you must pay a reinstatement fee to the state and purchase this policy once more to drive within the state.
Who Needs To File Ohio SR 22 Auto Insurance Coverage?
Ohio requires high-risk drivers to file SR22 certificates. You may have to purchase this insurance if you have the following convictions on your driving record:
- You’ve accumulated 12 or more points on your driving record in the last two years.
- A court convicted you of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- You had your license suspended for driving without insurance.
When a court has suspended your license, the state will require you to file Ohio SR22 insurance certification.
How Do I Know if My License Is Suspended?
Are you unsure about why you received a driver's license suspension? For details, you may contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at (844) 644-6268 from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. They can also provide you with additional information about filing your SR22 insurance forms.
What Is Nonowner SR22 Insurance in Ohio?
Do you have a DUI conviction but no longer own a car? Even if you don’t own a car, you will still need to get auto insurance to meet Ohio’s legal requirements. You’ll have to purchase a nonowner SR22 policy, or named operator insurance, to satisfy the state’s law. This minimum coverage is similar to SR22 policies, except they are connected with a person instead of a vehicle.
These nonowner insurance policies are best for people who don’t drive frequently. They cost less than the standard policies since they only cover liability. They don’t cover your vehicle damages. These policies only pay for damages to other people’s vehicles.
These policies also provide liability insurance whenever you drive a car that belongs to another person.
How Do I Get an Ohio SR22 Bond?
Ohio provides a third option to individuals who must satisfy the state’s SR22 requirement. They can attach their Ohio SR22 to a financial responsibility (FR) bond, also known as an SR22 bond. This certification provides drivers with an alternative to insurance.
Drivers can purchase FR bonds from their local insurance companies, and they are generally cheaper than Ohio SR22 insurance. They are similar to nonowner auto insurance policies and meet the area’s minimum liability requirements.
Unfortunately, the FR bond doesn’t offer you higher liability limits than the state’s requirements. You cannot increase the $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident or $25,000 property damage limits beyond the state’s minimum liability requirements. Instead, you would have to purchase an SR22 policy.
Insurers have varying rates for FR bonds. You must shop around for your bond to find the best deal.
Cheap SR 22 Insurance
Do you need cheaper SR 22 insurance, FR bonds or nonowner coverage? Rates from companies vary, so it pays to shop around for lower prices. Using an online search engine like SmartFinancial can help you cut your costs. We’ll provide you with affordable quotes from local insurers in your area. Just enter your zip code below to get started.
Get a Free Auto Insurance Quote Online Now.
Most U.S. states require proof of insurance for drivers to operate a car. However, each state comes with its own set of rules.
Looking for Auto Insurance?
Compare rates from dozens of companies in less than 3 minutes.
Although these jobs can provide a much-needed stream of income, they also come with a few risks. A personal auto insurance policy may not be enough.
Some people wrongly believe that an out-of-state ticket will somehow “go away” once they return home. However, you will most likely be tracked down.
The average dollar loss per auto theft is $8,407, according to the Insurance Information Institute. Here's what you need to know about car thefts.
Traditional insurance states and no-fault states are different in how they handle accidents. In a traditional (or tort law) state, there is fault assigned in an accident whereas in no-fault states your own car insurance pays for damages and injuries even when the accident was someone else’s fault. Below, we break down for you which 12 states are no fault states and what it means if you live in one.
What you need to know before you compare rates.
Drivers assume that there is nothing they can do to lower their insurance premium, this is not true.
What your young driver does, while driving your car, has a direct impact on what you pay for your insurance.