Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in North Dakota?
It is, yes. If you have a high score, this is good news, as it helps you get a lower quote. But if your score isn’t that great, it works against you. Insurance providers associate a poorer credit history with a greater likelihood of filing a claim.
Does North Dakota offer a good-driver discount?
It’s standard practice for car insurance companies in North Dakota and all over the country to reward clean driving records with discounts. Ask yours what the requirements are, and while you’re at it, you can ask about other common discounts that might apply, such as:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does North Dakota allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Residents are permitted to show proof of coverage using a digital insurance card issued by their carrier. It’s still a good idea to stash a printed card in your vehicle, just in case your phone’s dead or there’s another problem with your mobile device when you’re pulled over. But it’s nice to know you shouldn’t have to go digging around for it.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
It’s against the law to drive with lapsed auto insurance in North Dakota. Doing so puts you at risk of fines of at least $150. If you’re in any accident without coverage, you’ll also have 14 points assessed against your driver’s license. This triggers an immediate suspension.
What are North Dakota's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle in North Dakota at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
While these percentages represent the legal limits for determining intoxication, you don’t have to hit these levels to be arrested and convicted for DUI in North Dakota. All it takes is for a law enforcement officer to judge you to be impaired by drugs or alcohol to the point that it diminishes your ability to safely operate your motor vehicle.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in North Dakota?
Under North Dakota’s “implied consent” law, anyone operating a motor vehicle is considered to have consented to a drug and alcohol screening if a police officer has reason to suspect them of DUI. Refusing to comply with a chemical test request can result in suspension of your driver’s license for up to 4 years.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
The first DUI offense is considered a class B misdemeanor. It’s punishable with such penalties as 2 days of imprisonment, up to $750 in fines, up to 180 days suspension of driving privileges, and addiction evaluation. Some of the upper limits of these potential penalties are reserved for when the BAD is elevated to 0.16 or 0.18%.
Penalties are stiffer for a second offense within a 7-year period, though it’s also a class B misdemeanor. The third offense within a 7-year period becomes a class A misdemeanor, and the consequences become harsher still. Fourth and subsequent offenses within a 15-year period are class C felonies.
Find more specifics for each offense level here on the North Dakota Department of Transportation website.
Does North Dakota offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Yes it does! Find the list of State-approved Insurance Premium Reduction Courses here on the North Dakota Highway Patrol website.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my North Dakota car insurance?
Discounts and incentives, like the many mentioned throughout this page, are excellent ways to get your payments down. Maintaining a clean driving record and strong credit history help a lot, too. Most carriers charge less if you pay for a full term of coverage upfront rather than in monthly installments. Also, higher deductibles are balanced out with lower premiums. The best step toward reducing the cost of your auto insurance, however, is to comparison shop among leading North Dakota carriers to hone in on the lowest quotes for coverage tailored to your needs and preferences.