Carriers licensed in Wisconsin do make it a regular practice to reference consumer credit reports in determining premiums. Many believe that lower credit scores equate to a higher risk of filing claims.
It’s common practice for car insurance providers to give out good-driver discounts. Each one has its own qualifying criteria, but it’s usually something like 3 years without an accident or a ticket for a moving violation. Ask your agent for details, and about other discounts that may be available to you, such as:
- Credit Score
- Anti-Lock Brakes, Air Bags, or Daytime Running Lights
- Good Student Grades
- Continued Policy Renewals
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- Multiple Line
- Passive Restraint
It sure does! Don’t worry about digging through the mess in your glove box anymore. Just request official digital proof of coverage from your carrier and show it on your mobile device next time you need it. Of course, it’s a good idea to keep a printed card in your vehicle as a backup anyway, just in case your phone is dead when you get pulled over.
No matter the reason, driving without coverage in Wisconsin is against the law and subject to up to $500 in fines. You will also be required to promptly obtain a policy to retain your driving privileges.
It’s illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Wisconsin with the following BAC percentages:s:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
In Wisconsin, driving a car under the influence of alcohol or drugs is known as OWI, or Operating While Intoxicated. Although first, second, and third offenses require a BAC of 0.08%, fourth and subsequent offenses require a BAC of only 0.02%. Also, you can be charged and convicted of OWI due to the use of marijuana, cocaine, other illegal drugs, prescription medications, and over-the-counter drugs while driving.
Wisconsin’s implied consent law means you agreed to take a blood, urine, or blood test to determine your BAC when you acquired a driver’s license. Refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in the immediate revocation of your license for 1 year if this is your first refusal. A second refusal within 10 years of the first results in license revocation for 2 years and a third offense within 10 years triggers a loss of driving privileges for 3 years.
Penalties for OWI range in severity depending on the number and type of offenses. At the very least, you face fines, court costs, suspension of your driver’s license for at least 6 months, and potential jail time. Transporting a minor while intoxicated or causing bodily harm to another person will result in considerably harsher punishments. A BAC of 0.15% results in mandatory participation in a sobriety program.
Find extensive detailed information in this PDF from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.
It’s standard practice at many car insurance companies to give a discount to customers who voluntarily take a qualifying defensive driving course. Inquire about whether this is something you’re eligible for, and which driver improvement courses are approved for this purpose.
Of course, there are! We’ve already addressed a number of discounts and incentives on this page. On top of those, you can pay upfront for a full term of coverage rather than monthly, and choose a higher deductible for a lower premium. In the long run, it definitely pays to get and keep your credit score up, and to do your best to maintain a clean driving record. However, there’s no better way to reduce what you pay than taking just a few minutes with SmartFinancial to comparison shop for the lowest quotes on coverage in Wisconsin when it’s time for a new policy!
This is an optional coverage in some states, but yes, it’s mandatory in Wisconsin. It provides payments for injuries sustained by you or any of your passengers if you’re in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or one who flees the crash site. All policies in the state must have at least $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.