Yes. Wyoming allows auto insurers to consider your credit history when determining your premium. Customers with poor credit are believed to be more likely to file a claim, and insurers typically charge these customers more as a result.
Driving safely and remaining free of accidents and moving violations can result in a big discount on your auto insurance. Most carriers offer significant savings to good drivers, but this is something to research before taking out a policy. To save even more, ask about other potential discounts while you’re talking to your agent, such as:
- Vehicle Safety
- Utility Discount
- Resident Student
- Passive Restraint
- New Car
- Multiple Policy
- Multiple Car
- Home Ownership
- Good Student
- Full Pay
- Anti-Theft Device
- Anti-Lock Brake
Wyoming no longer requires drivers to carry paper or plastic insurance cards in their vehicles. Motorists in the state are permitted to display their insurance information using their smartphone, tablet, laptop, or other mobile devices.
Maintaining auto insurance coverage in Wyoming is mandatory, and vehicle owners caught without insurance—whether driving or not—face severe penalties. A lapse in insurance coverage, regardless of cause, is a misdemeanor that carries fines up to $750 for a first offense and up to $1,500 for a second offense, plus suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration. Additionally, driving without insurance may result in a jail sentence of up to 6 months.
It’s against the law to drive in Wyoming at the following BAC percentages:s:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
It isn’t necessary for a person to have a BAC of 0.08% to be arrested for DUI in the state of Wyoming. Also, you can be convicted of driving under the influence with a BAC below the legal limit of 0.08% if you’re displaying signs consistent with impairment of drugs or alcohol.
As a licensed Wyoming driver, you’ve given your consent to be tested for drugs and alcohol upon suspicion of driving under the influence. Failure to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test can result in the suspension of your driver’s license and other penalties.
Wyoming motorists who drive under the influence face harsh penalties. First-time DUI convictions are misdemeanors and may result in fines of up to $750, court costs, jail time, license suspension for 90 days, and 6 months' use of an ignition interlock device for those with a BAC higher than 0.15%.
Second and subsequent offenses may result in greater fines and jail time. Those convicted of multiple DUIs will also be required to attend a substance abuse program.
Most people think of driver improvement courses as a way to dismiss traffic ticket points, but most courses are available voluntarily, too. If you take a defensive driving class or other driver improvement course in Wyoming, you may be eligible for discounts on your car insurance premium. Ask your insurer if this is available, and what courses they accept.
There are many ways to reduce the cost of your automobile insurance in Wyoming. The easiest thing you can do is to ask your agent or carrier about discounts for good driving, automatic payments, eco-friendly vehicles, anti-theft devices, and more. You won’t know what discounts are offered or what you may qualify for until you ask. You can also lower the cost of your premiums by taking a higher deductible, eliminating unnecessary coverage, maintaining a good credit score, and by shopping around and comparing quotes.
Wyoming residents are not required to carry uninsured motorist coverage, provided they reject this coverage in writing. Uninsured motorist coverage is designed to cover your losses should you be involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or who flees the scene of the accident.