call

How Many Points Is a Speeding Ticket?

When you get a speeding ticket, it's going to cost you. There will probably be the immediate hit of a fine, but then there may be longer-term impacts from higher car insurance rates and the build up of points on your driver's license.

Points are a way of keeping score on your driving record -- but these are points you do not want to score. Rack up enough points, and you could lose your driving privileges temporarily or even permanently.

Most states use a point system as a way of keeping track of the number and seriousness of infractions a driver has incurred. It's important to know how these points can impact you, and what to do if you get points on your license.

How Many Points Is a Speeding Ticket by State?

Most states use some sort of points system to keep track of driving infractions. The way these systems work varies from state to state. The table below will give you some idea of how many points various states will assess your driver's license for speeding tickets, depending on the circumstances.

Most states use a point system as a way of keeping track of the number and seriousness of infractions a driver has incurred.

State

Speeding - Low End

Points for Low-End Speeding

Speeding - High End

Points for High-End Speeding

Number of Points for Suspension of License

Alabama

Any mph over speed limit

2

26 mph or more over speed limit

5

12 points within 24 months

Alaska

3 mph over speed limit

2

20 mph or more over speed limit

6

12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months

Arizona

Any mph over speed limit

3

Any mph over speed limit

3

8 points in 12 months

Arkansas

Any mph over speed limit

3

31 mph or more over speed limit

8

14 points, pending outcome of hearing

California

Any mph over speed limit

1

Any mph over speed limit

1

3 points in 12 months, 5 points in 24 months, or 7 points in 36 months, pending outcome of hearing

Colorado

5 mph over speed limit

1

40 mph or more over speed limit or above 75 mph

12

For drivers under 18: 6 points in 12 months or 7 total points; For drivers 18 to 21: 9 points in 12 months, 12 points in 24 months or 14 total points; For drivers over 21: 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months

Connecticut

Any mph over speed limit

1

Any mph over speed limit

1

10 points within 24 months

Delaware

Any mph over speed limit

2

20 mph or more over speed limit

5

14 points within 12 months; conviction for driving 25 mph over the speed limit carries a one month suspension regardless of points.

District of Columbia

11 mph over speed limit

3

21 mph or more over speed limit

5

10 points within 24 months

Florida

Any mph over speed limit

3

Any mph over speed limit

3

12 points within 12 months or 18 points within 18 months or 24 points within 36 months

Georgia

15 mph over speed limit

2

34 mph or more over speed limit

6

15 points within 24 months

Hawaii

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Idaho

Any mph over speed limit

3

16 mph or more over speed limit

4

12 points within 12 months or 18 points within 24 months or 24 points within 36 months

Illinois

Any mph over speed limit

5

25 mph or more over speed limit

50

3 moving violations within 12 months if you are over 21, 2 moving violations within 12 months if you are 21 or under

Indiana

Any mph over speed limit

2

26 mph or more over speed limit

6

2 moving violations within 12 months unless a driver safety program is completed

Iowa

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Any combinations of 3 moving violations or accidents within a 12-month period

Kansas

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Kentucky

11 mph over speed limit

3

16 mph or more over speed limit (26 mph or more results in a hearing and possible immediate suspension)

6

For drivers under 18: 7 points in 24 months; For drivers 18 and over: 12 points in 24 months

Louisiana

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Maine

Any mph over speed limit

4

15 mph or more over speed limit

6

12 points within 12 months

Maryland

Any mph over speed limit

1

30 mph or more over speed limit

5

8 points within 24 months

Massachusetts

Any mph over speed limit

2

Any mph over speed limit

2

3 speeding violations within 12 months

Michigan

Any mph over speed limit

1

16 mph or more over speed limit

4

Depends on type of violation and driving record

Minnesota

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Mississippi

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Missouri

5 mph over speed limit

3

5 mph or more over speed limit

3

8 points in 18 months

Montana

Any mph over speed limit

3

Any mph over speed limit

3

30 points within 36 months causes license to be revoked

Nebraska

5 mph over speed limit

2

36 mph or more over speed limit

4

12 points within 24 months causes license to be revoked

Nevada

Any mph over speed limit

1

41 mph or more over speed limit

5

12 points within 12 months

New Hampshire

1 mph over speed limit

3

25 mph or more over speed limit

4

For drivers under 18: 6 points in 12 months; For drivers 18 to 20: 9 points in 12 months; For drivers 21 and over: 12 points in 12 months.

New Jersey

1 mph over speed limit

2

30 mph or more over speed limit

5

12 points on current driving record

New Mexico*

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

New York

1 mph over speed limit

3

41 mph or more over speed limit

11

11 points within 18 months

North Carolina

Driving over 55 mph

3

Driving over 55 mph

3

12 points within 36 months

North Dakota

6 mph over speed limit

1

36 mph or more over speed limit

15

For drivers under 18: 6 points; For drivers 18 and over: 12 points

Ohio

5 mph over speed limit

2

30 mph or more over speed limit

8

12 points within 24 months

Oklahoma

11 mph over speed limit

2

40 mph or more over speed limit

4

10 points within a five year period

Oregon

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Pennsylvania

6 mph over speed limit

2

26 mph or more over speed limit

5

For drivers under 18: 6 points; For drivers 18 and over: reaching 6 points for a second time, pending outcome of hearing.

Rhode Island

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

South Carolina

Any mph over speed limit

2

26 mph or more over speed limit

6

12 points in 24 months

South Dakota

Any mph over speed limit

2

Any mph over speed limit

2

15 points in 12 months or 22 points in 24 months

Tennessee

Any mph over speed limit

1

46 mph or more over speed limit

8

12 points in 12 months pending outcome of hearing

Texas

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Utah

Any mph over speed limit

35

21 mph or more over speed limit

75

For drivers under 21: 70 points in 36 months; For drivers 21 and over: 200 points in 36 months

Vermont

Any mph over speed limit

2

31 mph or more over speed limit

8

10 points in 24 months

Virginia

Any mph over speed limit

3

20 mph or more over speed limit or driving in excess of 85 mph

6

12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months

Washington

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

West Virginia

11 mph over speed limit

3

20 mph or more over speed limit

6

12 points in 24 months

Wisconsin

1 mph over speed limit

3

20 mph or more over speed limit

6

12 points in 12 months

Wyoming

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

*New Mexico uses a point system, but does not make details of it publicly available online and a representative of the DMV was not able to provide details over the phone.

Except for New Mexico, states with N/A listed for all categories do not use a point system.

Find Affordable Car Insurance

Do All States Use Point Systems?

No. The following 11 states do not use point systems:

  • Hawaii

  • Iowa

  • Kansas

  • Louisiana

  • Minnesota

  • Michigan

  • Oregon

  • Rhode Island

  • Texas

  • Washington

  • Wyoming

Just because a state does not have a licensing system does not mean that they will not suspend your license if you drive badly. States have a variety of other criteria for taking away driving privileges based on the seriousness or number of traffic violations you have committed.

Insurance companies keep track of traffic tickets, especially for serious violations like speeding.

How Do Driver's License Points Work?

Points are a way of keeping track of bad drivers. If you get a traffic ticket for a moving violation, you are likely to get points assessed on your driving record. The more serious the offense, the more points will be charged on your driver's license.

As you can see in the chart above, if you accumulate enough points within a certain period of time, it can result in the suspension of your driver's license. This number varies per state.

How Much Can a Speeding Ticket Affect My Insurance?

Besides counting towards a possible suspension of your license, points can often cost you in the form of higher insurance rates.

Insurance companies keep track of traffic tickets, especially for serious violations like speeding, which factor into how risky you are as a driver. Each new violation adds to your risk profile, and that's likely to result in higher car insurance rates.

The increased cost of auto insurance after you get a speeding ticket is likely to run in the hundreds of dollars. The exact amount depends on the seriousness of the violation and how clean your driving history is otherwise.

The cost of higher car insurance rates is magnified by the fact that they're likely to stay higher for years to come. Over time, the total cost of higher auto insurance is likely to far exceed the fine for the speeding ticket itself.

Can I Remove Speeding Ticket Points From My Record?

Once you have points on your driver's license, do they stay there forever or can you get rid of them?

In most states, points expire after a while. There are also a couple ways you can reduce the number of points on your driving record. And, while it doesn't work exactly the same way for insurance purposes, there are ways you can reduce the impact of a speeding ticket on your car insurance rates.

Expiration times for points

How long it takes for points to come off your driving record varies by state, but often it's 2 - 3 years.

Of course, whether the number of points on your license declines over time depends on how many new points you accumulate in the meantime. Generally though, if you keep a clean driving record moving forward you should see the number of points you're carrying come down.

Safe driving classes

Many states give you the option of taking a safe driving course as a way to knock points off your license. It might also be an alternative to paying a fine, and could qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance.

Points and insurance

Do insurance companies track driver's license points? Not exactly, but there is an indirect relationship between the number of points on your driving record and your auto insurance rates.

Points systems vary a great deal across the country. So insurance companies pay more attention to the infractions rather than the number of points you accumulate. The more infractions you accumulate on your driving record, the more the insurance company will view you as an unsafe driver. This will send your car insurance rates higher.

The longer you go without any more moving violations, the less impact past tickets will have on your insurance rates. Also, to some degree you can offset the negative impact of speeding tickets by taking a safe driving class.

You can offset the negative impact of speeding tickets by taking a safe driving class.

Speeding Ticket Points: FAQs

How many points before my license is suspended?

Check the table earlier in this article to see how it works in your state. A common formula is 12 points in 12 months. The seriousness of the infraction and the length of time in which you incur points have a big impact on whether or not you face a license suspension.

How long before points come off my driving record?

It varies from state to state, but two to five years is a common time frame. However, it may take longer before insurance companies stop including a speeding ticket in their assessment of your riskiness as a driver.

What if I get caught speeding in another state?

Most states report moving violations committed by out-of-state drivers to the driver's home state. Since point systems vary from state to state, you would then most likely be assessed points according to the rules of your state, not those of the state in which you committed the infraction.

Reduce the Impact of Driver's License Points on Auto Insurance

The biggest cost you face if you get a speeding ticket is higher car insurance premiums. There are three ways you can reduce this cost:

  1. Take a safe driving course. Check with your insurance company to see which courses would qualify you for a discount.

  2. Maintain a clean driving record moving forward. That way, the impact of your speeding ticket and points will fade over time.

  3. Shop around for auto insurance. Not only do insurance premiums vary per insurer, but each insurance company penalizes drivers to a different degree for speeding tickets.

For free car insurance quotes, enter your zip code below and answer a few questions. It only takes three minutes, and you can save up to 40% in premiums.

Get a Free Auto Insurance Quote Online Now.