How Long Does a Speeding Ticket Stay on Your Record?

Fran
Lucy Lazarony
February 9, 2021

Getting a speeding ticket can be a stressful situation. You’ll get points on your license and depending on how fast you were driving you’ll need to pay a hefty fine. And your auto insurance rates may go up. We’ll get into the question of how long does a speeding ticket stay on your record. We’ll also show you that there is something you can do. You can erase the points from your license by taking a driver safety course. So that is a good strategy to take after getting a ticket. Driving within the speed limits is the best strategy going forward. If you got a ticket during some around town driving, be mindful of the lower speed limits in certain sections of town. If you got a speeding ticket out on the highway, you’ll want to slow down your driving. Wherever you are going there is no rush, not one that causes you to get a speeding ticket. So drive the speed limit on highway trips, you risk getting a big speeding ticket if you don’t. Here is an in-depth look at what happens when you get a speeding ticket.

How Long Does a Speeding Ticket Stay on Your Record?

A speeding ticket will vary in price and points according to how much you drove over the limit. For example, in Nevada you get one point on your driving record if you are caught driving up to 10 miles an hour over the speed limit. But you will get two points if you are caught driving 11 to 20 miles per hour over the speed limit.

The length of time a speeding ticket stays on your record varies by state. The national average is three years. A speeding ticket stays on your record one year in Maine, 10 years in Hawaii, three years and three months in California and one year and six months in New York and two years in Virginia.

Here is a roundup of the length of time a speeding ticket stays on your driving record in all 50 states.

Alabama After 2 years a speeding ticket doesn’t count for suspension purposes but it does remain on the driver’s record.

Alaska 1 year

Arizona 1 year

Arkansas 3 years

California 3 years and 3 months

Colorado 2 years

Connecticut 3 years

Delaware 2 years

Florida 10 years, points stay on record for 3 to 5 years

Georgia 2 years

Hawaii 10 years

Idaho 3 years

Illinois 4 to 5 years

Indiana 2 years

Iowa 6 years

Kansas 3 years

Kentucky 5 years on driving record, points are removed after 2 years

Louisiana 5 years

Maine 1 year

Maryland Ticket is on driving record for 3 years, points can affect license for 2 years

Massachusetts 6 years

Michigan Points stay on record for 2 years, ticket stays on record for 7 years

Minnesota 5 years, and for serious speeding 10 years

Mississippi 1 year

Missouri 3 years, 5 years if the ticket led to a license suspension

Montana Stays on record permanently

Nebraska 5 years

Nevada 1 year for points, speeding convictions stay on permanent record

New Hampshire 3 years

New Jersey 5 years

New Mexico 1 year

New York 1 year and 6 months

North Carolina 3 years

North Dakota 3 years

Ohio 2 years

Oklahoma 5 years

Oregon 2 years

Pennsylvania 1 year

Rhode Island 3 years

South Carolina 2 years

South Dakota 2 years

Tennessee 1 year

Texas 3 years

Utah 3 years

Vermont 2 years

Virginia 5 years

Washington 5 years

West Virginia 5 years

Wisconsin 1 year

Wyoming 1 year

Washington D.C. 5 years

A speeding ticket could stay on your driving record after the points have expired. For example, if you are caught speeding in Virginia the points drop off your driving record after two years but the conviction stays on your driving record for five years. In Michigan, the points stay on your driving record for two years but the ticket stays on your record for seven years. So take a close look at the speeding laws in your state. You want to know just how long the points last and just how long the speeding ticket will stay on your record.

How Much Will a Speeding Ticket Cost Me?

The average cost of a speeding ticket in the United States is $150. Depending on how fast you’re going and what state you are in, the average cost can vary quite a bit. And don’t forget about the increase in your auto insurance after you get a speeding ticket. The average insurance increase is 26 percent to 30 percent.

What If I Don’t Pay a Speeding Ticket?

You might decide to pay the ticket or fight it. If the police officer doesn’t show up to the court hearing, you pay nothing and the point is not added to your license. If you do not pay your fine within the time the court gives you and you don’t attend the court date to fight the charge, your driver’s license may be suspended. If you do not pay your fine, a “civil assessment” of up to $300 may be added to your fine amount and your case may be referred to collections or the court could issue a warrant for your arrest.

How Many Points Will I Get On My Record?

Points are applied to your driving record when you are convicted of certain traffic violations such as speeding. If you accumulate too many points within a period of time, your license is suspended or revoked. Each state applies and manages points for speeding differently. In California, you get one point for speeding and that point stays on your driving record for three years and three months. In New York, you could get anywhere from three points to 11 points for speeding and these points stay on your driving record for one year and six months.

Here is a list of the number of points you get for speeding in each of the 50 states. Mph stands for miles per hour.

Alabama

2 points for driving 1 to 25 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 26 mph or higher over the speed limit.

Alaska

2 points for driving 3 to 9 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 10 to 19 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit

Arizona

3 points for driving over the speed limit

Arkansas

3 points for driving over the speed limit

California

1 point for speeding under 100 mph

2 points for speeding over 100 mph

Colorado

1 point for driving 5 to 9 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 10 to 19 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 20 to 39 mph over the speed limit

12 points for driving 40 mph and more over the speed limit

Connecticut

1 point for driving over the speed limit

Delaware

2 points for driving 1 to 9 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 10 to 14 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 15 to 19 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit

Florida

3 points for driving less than 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 15 mph or more over the speed limit

Georgia

2 points for driving 15 to 18 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving 19 to 23 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 24 to 33 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 34 mph or more over speed limit

Hawaii

No longer uses a points system

Idaho

3 points for driving 1 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 mph or more over the speed limit

Illinois

5 points for driving 1 to 10 mph over the speed limit

15 points for driving 11 to 14 mph over the speed limit

20 points for driving 15 to 25 mph over the speed limit

50 points for driving 25 mph and more over the speed limit

Indiana

2 points for driving 1 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 26 mph and more over the speed limit

Iowa

5 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

Exceeding speed limit by more than 25 mph is an automatic license revocation

Kansas

Does not use a points system

Kentucky

3 points for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

Hearing and license suspension for driving 26 mph or more over the speed limit

Louisiana

Does not use a points system

Maine

4 points for driving 1 to 15 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 16 to 29 mph over the speed limit

Maryland

1 point for driving 1 to 9 mph over the speed limit

2 points for driving 10 to 19 mph over the speed limit

Massachusetts

2 points for driving over the speed limit

Michigan

3 points for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 mph or more over the speed limit

Minnesota

Does not use a points system

Mississippi

Does not use a points system

Missouri

2 to 3 points for driving more than 5 mph over the speed limit

Montana

3 points for driving over the speed limit

Nebraska

2 points for driving 5 to 10 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving more than 10 mph to 35 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving more than 35 mph over the speed limit

Nevada

1 point for driving 1 to 10 mph over the speed limit

2 points for driving 11 to 20 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving 21 to 30 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 31 to 40 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 41 mph or more over the speed limit

New Hampshire

3 points for driving 1 to 24 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 25 mph or more over the speed limit

New Jersey

2 points for driving 1 to 14 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 15 to 29 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit

New Mexico

3 points for driving 6 to 15 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

8 points for driving 26 mph or more over the speed limit

New York

3 points for driving 1 to 10 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 11 to 20 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 21 to 30 mph over the speed limit

8 points for driving 31 to 40 mph over the speed limit

11 points for driving 41 mph or more over the speed limit

North Carolina

2 points for driving 10 mph or less over the speed limit when the speed limit is greater than 55

2 points for driving 10 mph or less over the speed limit when the speed limit is less than 55

3 points for driving 80 mph or higher when the speed limit is 70 mph or higher

3 points for driving 75 mph or higher when the speed limit is less than 70

North Dakota

1 point for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving 16 to 20 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 21 to 25 mph over the speed limit

9 points for driving 26 to 35 mph over the speed limit

12 points for driving 36 to 45 mph over the speed limit

15 points for driving 46 mph or more over the speed limit.

Ohio

2 points for driving 5 mph or more but less than 25 mph over a speed limit that is less than 55 mph

4 points for driving 25 miles or more over the speed limit

Oklahoma

2 points for driving at least 10 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving at least 25 mph over the speed limit

Oregon

Does not have a points system

Pennsylvania

2 points for driving 6 to 10 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 26 to 30 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 31 mph and more over the speed limit

Rhode Island

Does not have a points system

South Carolina

2 points for driving 10 mph or less over the speed limit

4 points for driving between 10 mph and 25 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving over 25 mph more than the speed limit

South Dakota

Does not assign points for speeding

Tennessee

1 point for driving 1 to 5 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving 6 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 26 to 35 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 36 to 45 mph over the speed limit

8 points for driving 46 mph and more over the speed limit

Texas

2 points for driving over the speed limit

Utah

35 points for driving 1 to 10 mph over the speed limit

55 points for driving 11 to 20 mph over the speed limit

75 points for driving 21 mph and more over the speed limit

Vermont

2 points for driving less than 10 mph over the speed limit

3 points for driving more than 10 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving more than 20 mph over the speed limit

8 points for driving more than 30 mph over the speed limit

Virginia

3 points for driving 1 to 9 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 10 to 14 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 15 to 19 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit

Washington

Does not have a points system

West Virginia

3 points for driving 11 to 14 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 15 to 19 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit

Wisconsin

3 points for driving 1 to 10 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 11 to 19 mph over the speed limit

6 points for driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit

Wyoming

Does not have a points system

Washington D.C.

3 points for driving 11 to 15 mph over the speed limit

4 points for driving 16 to 20 mph over the speed limit

5 points for driving 21 mph or more above the speed limit

How Long Does a Speeding Ticket Increase Your Insurance?

Speeding violations are not handled the same way between each insurance carrier. So check with your insurance company right after you get your ticket to find out how long your speeding ticket may be affecting your insurance rates. If it is a small speeding ticket, it may not be affecting your rates much at all. But a larger ticket could have a significant impact on your insurance. So check with your insurance company as soon as possible after a ticket so you’ll know what kind of rate hike you may be facing.

Car Insurance Rate Hikes After a Speeding Ticket According to State

On average, car insurance will increase at least 20 percent after a ticket and most tickets will stay on your driving record for three to five years.

Here is a listing of the rate hikes that follow getting tickets for driving 11 to 16 miles per hour over the speed limit in the 50 states.

Alaska 19%

Alabama 28%

Arkansas 20%

Arizona 25%

California 34%

Colorado 19%

Connecticut 17%

Delaware 18%

Florida 27%

Georgia 17%

Hawaii 10%

Iowa 17%

Idaho 30%

Illinois 20%

Indiana 24%

Kansas 16%

Kentucky 15%

Louisiana 21%

Massachusetts 20%

Maryland 18%

Maine 15%

Michigan 29%

Minnesota 22%

Missouri 10%

Mississippi 29%

Montana 8%

North Carolina 50%

North Dakota 21%

Nebraska 28%

New Hampshire 23%

New Jersey 17%

New Mexico 19%

Nevada 20%

New York 12%

Ohio 21%

Oklahoma 30%

Oregon 20%

Pennsylvania 9%

Rhode lsland 21%

South Carolina 16%

South Dakota 18%

Tennessee 15%

Texas 15%

Utah 18%

Virginia 20%

Vermont 14%

Washington 19%

Wisconsin 16%

West Virginia 15%

Wyoming 28%

Washington, D.C. 15%

How to Erase Points from Your Driving Record After a Speeding Ticket

Taking a driver safety course can remove points from your driver’s license after getting a speeding ticket. If you manage to do this and pass the class in time, your insurance may not increase your insurance rate for getting the ticket.

How many points you can erase and how often depends on the state where you live. Alaska allows you to have two points removed from your license by attending a defensive driving course. In Delaware, you can erase three points for attending a driving safety class. And in Georgia, you can remove up to seven points every five years with driver safety classes. So check with your state about driving safety courses and removing points from your license. You want to take full advantage of the opportunity to remove points if you have a speeding ticket on your record.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

Different insurance companies will rate a license with a speeding ticket differently. Compare insurance rates with SmartFinancial. You’re looking for the best rate you can find with having a speeding ticket on your driving record. SmartFinancial will help you find several different insurance offers from insurance companies near you. SmartFinancial has access to more than 200 insurance companies so you are bound to find a good offer.

The best way to get back on track after a speeding ticket or multiple speeding tickets is to follow the rules of the road. Drive within the speed limit wherever you go. Take a driver’s safety class. Doing so could remove points from your license. And a refresher on traffic safety can help you be more aware of traffic laws while driving.

Other Types of Traffic Violations and Penalties

What other traffic violations are there besides speeding? Moving violations include driving under the influence (DUI), failure to stop at a red light or traffic sign, failure to signal and failure to yield. Non-moving violations include parking tickets and driving with expired tags.

A DUI is considered a misdemeanor. In most cases, a misdemeanor offense carries a maximum sentence of one year in the county jail.

Traffic infractions such as failing to stop or failing to yield usually include a fine, traffic school and demerit points on the driver’s license.

High-Risk Insurance After a Speeding Ticket

High-risk insurance companies may be the only companies willing to insure people with multiple or unpaid speeding tickets. Here are a few high-risk insurance companies to check out. They may give you the deal you are looking for when you have speeding tickets on your record.

The General specializes in high-risk drivers. So The General is more than willing to take on your business if you have multiple speeding tickets that make you a risk. But you will need to check to see if The General is available in your state. The General only does business in 25 states.

Started in Wisconsin more than 60 years ago, Dairyland has grown to a national presence. And that national presence includes taking on high-risk drivers. Dairyland offers affordable pay-as-you-go plans with low down payments and there are also several discounts available.

A national insurance company, Geico was awarded “Highest Customer Satisfaction Among Auto Insurers in the Northwest and North Central Regions” by J.D. Power. In addition to good customer service, Geico offers good rates for drivers with speeding tickets on their driving records.

Direct Auto offers low rates on auto insurance regardless of a driver’s credit or driving history. Direct Auto specializes in serving high-risk drivers and its services are available across the Southeast.

Based in Columbus, Ohio, Safe Auto provides insurance options to drivers in 28 states. Flexible payment plans are available. Safe Auto is a leading provider of state minimum insurance coverages. Someone with points on their driving record may find that they can only afford state minimum insurance coverages.

Kemper is known for providing auto insurance to high-risk drivers. Kemper’s policies are available through independent agents in most states and directly from Kemper in some states. Kemper sells auto insurance policies to drivers with poor credit and drivers with blemished driving records.

Let SmartFinancial compare rates for you for free. It’ll save you time and money! Start by entering your zip code below.

Get a Free Auto Insurance Quote Online Now.

Related Articles

Auto Insurance Do You Need Car Insurance?

Most U.S. states require proof of insurance for drivers to operate a car. However, each state comes with its own set of rules.

Auto Insurance SR22 Insurance: Texas Laws and Requirements

SR-22 insurance policies give Texans with not-so-perfect driving records a second chance to get back on the state’s highways.

Looking for Auto Insurance?

Compare rates from dozens of companies in less than 3 minutes.