How Many Points Is a Speeding Ticket in NY?
The number of points you'll get from a speeding ticket depends on the severity of the infraction. The cost will also vary depending on where the infraction took place. Your insurance will likely go up if you are given a speeding ticket. Moving violations like this tend to stay on your license for four years. If you get too many points on your license in an 18-month period you could face a license suspension. If you feel you have been issued a ticket without warrant, you may choose to contest the ticket in court for a lower fine or dismissal. Points and Insurance Reduction Programs (PIRP) can help you remove points from your license as well as discount your insurance costs by 10% for three years. Keep reading for an in-depth look at the cost of speeding tickets, the differences in point values, and what to do if you get a ticket.
How Many Points Are Speeding Tickets in New York?
Below is a breakdown of the number of points given for speeding violations in New York.
MPH Over Speed Limit
MPH over speed limit not indicated
More than 40 mph
The New York point system is used by the DMV to recognize high-risk drivers. The amount of points depends on the severity of the violation. Getting 11 points within an 18-month period may result in your license being suspended.
How Much Does a Speeding Ticket in NY Cost?
Below is a breakdown of what a speeding ticket costs depending on the severity of the infraction.
Possible Jail Time
Up to 10 mph over
Not more than 15 days
More than 10 mph over - less than 30 mph over
Not more than 30 days
More than 30 mph over
Not more than 30 days
Not more than 15 days
Your fines will increase if there is more than one speeding incident in 18 months. Three in 18 months will result in a license suspension. Keep in mind the fine amount can vary depending on if you were speeding in a school zone or a work zone. Fines are usually doubled in work zones where speed limits need to be observed even if there is no activity.
Speeding in a school zone can cost anywhere from $90 to $1,200 depending on how fast you are going. Below is a small breakdown of the cost for speeding in a school zone:
Possible Prison Time
1-10 mph over
No jail time
11-30 mph over
Not more than 15 days
31 mph over and greater
Not more than 30 days
You may also need to pay a state surcharge of $88 on top of any additional penalties or fines. This surcharge helps pay for the victim assistance fund and court-appointed attorneys. If you get six or more points in an 18-month period, you may need to pay what's called a driver responsibility assessment fee for the next three years. The annual assessment fee is $100 and $25 for every point on top of the original six points. You will receive a statement from the DMV with the amount you owe should you be required to pay a driver responsibility assessment. Your driver's license will be suspended if the minimum amount is not submitted by the payment date.
Will My Insurance Increase Because of a Speeding Ticket?
Your auto insurance will likely go up if you have been issued a speeding ticket. Traffic violations on your driving record cause insurance companies to consider you a higher risk. The higher the risk, the higher the rates. The more tickets and accidents, the more you pay. How much your rate will increase varies from one insurance company to another. However, there are some common factors insurance companies will take into consideration:
Your driving history
If the traffic ticket was your first offense
The length of time from your last infraction
How far over the speed limit you were traveling
Being involved in too many accidents or receiving too many traffic citations can make it very difficult to find insurance and when you do it'll be expensive. Drivers with more experience and clean driving records pay the least for coverage.
Keep in mind there is a way to reduce your insurance costs after a speeding ticket with the Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP). The PIRP is a comprehensive defensive driving course that can not only reduce the number of points on your license, but also afford you a 10% discount for three years on your auto insurance upon successfully completing the course. It takes a little over five hours to finish and has no formal testing. The company or organization sponsoring the course should send a notice to the DMV of your completion within 10 weeks.
How Long Do Speeding Ticket Points Stay on Your License in NY?
The short answer is 18 months. Every time you get a speeding ticket, points will be added to your driving record. The total points for speeding, as well as certain other violations, are added together for the most recent 18-month period.* If you accumulate a total of 11 points, regardless of violation type within an 18-month period, you are at risk of having your license suspended. You can check your points at any time by logging into MyDMV.
*Technically the points will remain on your license for up to four years, while severe violations like DUI may remain for up to 10 or 15 years.
What Happens if You Have Too Many Points on Your License in New York?
If you accumulate 11 or more points within an 18-month timeframe, your license can be suspended. The New York DMV uses a point system to identify and penalize repeat offenders. Points are assigned for a variety of common traffic violations and totaled over an 18-month period. Suspensions can be "definite" with a specified period of time during which it is illegal to drive, or indefinite, meaning you cannot drive until you complete a required action. A required action could be paying the fine on a speeding ticket or attending a driver's education course. Definite suspensions are more commonly issued, for example, in the case of having too many traffic tickets. After the designated time period has ended, you may need to pay a "suspension termination fee," usually around $50, before your driving privileges are reinstated.
Should You Contest a Speeding Ticket in NY?
The large majority of New York drivers who are issued tickets for speeding violations simply choose to pay their fine and move on, while 3-4% choose to contest the violation and negotiate to have the charges reduced or dropped. Some things to consider before paying the fine are:
How many points will the ticket add to your license
Will it increase your insurance premiums
Will it affect your job
Could it cause your license to be suspended
Can you afford the time to go to court
What will be the total cost if you don't contest the ticket
Can you find or hire someone knowledgeable to help you
Many people assume they can't win in court so they never try. Sometimes, however, the issuing officer doesn't even appear and you can win your case by default. Even if you don't win outright, you may be able to negotiate for reduced charges.
While some violations are minor and may not warrant the time and expense of going to court, heavy fines, points on your license, increased insurance premiums, and possible suspension or revocation of your license are all reasons to at least try.
Tips To Remove Points From Your Record
New York has what is called a Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP). Finishing a PIRP won't remove the number of points from your driving record. In this sense, point reduction refers to your ability to have the value of up to four points removed from your license which could in turn help prevent a license suspension. Remember, the points will typically remain on your license for four years. An added bonus to completing a PIRP is the 10% discount you are given upon completing the course. The discount lasts for three years.
Private companies and organizations sponsoring the PIRP course will let the DMV know of your completion within 10 weeks of finishing. Four "active" points will then be removed from your record. For example, if the original number of points on your license was 11 and you successfully completed a PIRP course, your active number of points would be seven. You can request a copy of your record from the DMV in order to verify the appropriate changes have been made. Contact your course sponsor if the completed course is not present on your record. Below is a list from the New York DMV of what PIRP does and does not do to points on your license:
Point reduction applies only to points given within the 18 months immediately before course completion. It does not affect points for earlier violations and does not apply to future violations
Point reduction will not reduce your point total to lower than zero
Point reduction does not affect licenses that have already been revoked or suspended
If a violation hearing has already been scheduled, the point reduction will not affect the hearing
Point reduction doesn't stop or cancel the mandatory revocation or suspension for three speeding violations within 18 months
Your insurance company's "point" system and the DMV's point system are unrelated. Point reduction does not affect points assigned by your insurance company
Be Mindful of Speeding Tickets, Hike in Insurance Rates
The number of points and cost of a speeding ticket depends on where you were driving and how far over the speed limit you were traveling. Your insurance will more than likely go up if you are given a speeding ticket. You can expect to have these points remain on your license for at least 18 months or up to four years. Should you get 11 or more in an 18-month period, your license will be suspended. To avoid suspension, you can enroll in a Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP). This allows four points to be removed from your license as well as a 10% discount on your auto insurance for three years. There is the option of contesting the ticket in court. This could result in a negotiation that lowers your fine amount, or possibly the dismissal of your ticket altogether. If you're paying a higher insurance rate due to points on your license, you may be able to save up to 40% on car insurance by comparing rates. Enter your zip code below and fill out a quick questionnaire to receive free car insurance quotes for the lowest rates in your area.