Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Mississippi?
It is, yes. In almost every state, auto insurance providers use customers’ credit scores to come up with their so-called insurance score, a number used in determining price quotes. Lower credit scores result in higher premiums and higher credit scores qualify for lower premiums.
Does Mississippi offer a good-driver discount?
Carriers in Mississippi typically provide good-driver discounts to motorists who haven’t been in an accident and/or who haven’t been ticketed for a moving violations within a certain number of years. Good, safe drivers are less likely to file claims, so this helps attract desirable customers and incentivize careful behavior on the road. If you’re looking for discounts (and who isn’t?), here are some others your car insurance company may offer:
- Full Pay
- Multiple Car
- Multiple Policy
- Good Student
- Resident Student
- Accident Free
- Vehicle Safety
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Utility Discount
Does Mississippi allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes! As of July 2013, Mississippi is one of the majority of states that permit this convenient electronic option. Ask your carrier for official digital proof of coverage and show it on your phone or other mobile device if necessary. It might still be a good idea to keep a printed card in your vehicle, though, just on the off chance your device isn’t charged or something isn’t loading properly when you need it.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Driving without auto insurance is a misdemeanor in Mississippi. If your coverage lapses, you may face fines of up to $500. Also, your driver’s license will be suspended at least until you can show proof of coverage—and possibly longer.
What are Mississippi's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Mississippi at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
Get more information about the state’s DUI laws and offender penalties from the Mississippi Office of Highway Safety website (PDF).
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Mississippi?
The Mississippi Implied Consent Law, enacted in July 2015, says that all motorists in the state have consented to a breath, blood, or urine test by acquiring a driver’s license. There is no right to refuse if a law enforcement officer has reasonable suspicion that you’re driving under the influence of an intoxicating substance. Refusing the test results in a 90-day suspension of your driving privileges (or a 1-year suspension if you’ve previously refused a test and/or been convicted of a DUI-related offense).
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Like everywhere else in the country, Mississippi has tiered DUI consequences depending on the circumstances—particularly how many prior offenses a person has. Other aggravating factors that can increase penalties might include being under 21, causing an accident while impaired, causing another person’s death in a DUI-related crash, having an especially high BAC percentage, and others.
A first-time DUI offender can expect some or all of the following: A fine between $250 and $1,000, up to 48 hours in jail, compulsory attendance of an alcohol safety program at their own expense, and at least a 90-day suspension of driving privileges.
Does Mississippi offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Yes, most carriers in Mississippi will give you a discount on your coverage if you voluntarily complete a defensive driving course not associated with a ticket or the accumulation of too many points on your license. You can go through the State-owned Mississippi Safety Services Driving School or find another court-approved course.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Mississippi car insurance?
Of course! We’ve already gone over a lot of potential discounts on this page. In addition to them, two good premium-lowering tactics are taking the highest deductible you can and paying upfront instead of monthly. But nothing works better than remembering to comparison shop for the lowest car insurance quotes when it’s time to pick out a new policy.