Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Oklahoma?
Some Oklahoma insurance companies use an insurance score to determine the level of risk you present. This insurance score is based in part on your credit information. Some experts believe that poor credit indicates a higher likelihood of filing an insurance claim.
Does Oklahoma offer a good-driver discount?
Most insurance companies offer reduced rates to motorists with safe driving records. In some cases, this means several years without a moving violation or traffic collision of any kind. There are other ways you can save on your car insurance, too. Some additional optional discounts offered in the state include:
- Claims-Free Discount
- Credit Score
- Anti-Lock Brakes, Air Bags, or Daytime Running Lights
- Good Student Grades
- Continued Policy Renewals
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Anti-Theft Device
- Home Ownership
- Multiple Line
- Passive Restraint
Does Oklahoma allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Yes! Oklahoma motorists are allowed to provide proof of insurance on their electronic devices instead of needing to carry a paper ID card. Check with your insurance carrier to determine on what type of devices and in what format your digital insurance card is available. It still might be a good idea to keep a printed card in your vehicle anyway, just in case your phone isn’t charged when you get stopped and have to show proof of coverage.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Drivers in Oklahoma who are caught driving without insurance will temporarily lose their driving privileges and have to pay a reinstatement fee once they can show proof of coverage. Additionally, some insurance companies increase your rates based on previous lapses in coverage.
What are Oklahoma's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It is illegal for individuals to operate a motor vehicle in Oklahoma with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.00%+ at under 21 years old
Oklahoma considers BACs of 0.08% or above to be DUIs. If you drive with a BAC below this amount, but you have measurable alcohol in your system, it’s considered a DWI. Additionally, the state’s zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21 means license revocation for any amount of alcohol in the blood.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma, like most other states, has an “implied consent” law. By driving on roads in the state, you automatically consent to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if suspected of driving under the influence. Refusal to submit to a chemical screening results in immediate suspension of your driver’s license, and it may be used as evidence against you in court.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
Being convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma carries severe penalties, and the results of a blood or breath test largely determine what those penalties are. Drunk drivers may receive hefty fines, suspension of driving privileges, increased insurance rates, jail time, and more.
Penalties are even harsher for aggravated driving, which in Oklahoma refers to operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.15% or higher. Those convicted face 28 days of inpatient treatment, 480 hours of community service, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.
Does Oklahoma offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Taking a driver improvement course in Oklahoma voluntarily qualifies you for a mandatory 3-year discount on your auto insurance. This discount does not apply if you take the course due to a court order related to a motor vehicle violation or drug or alcohol offense.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Oklahoma car insurance?
While there are things outside your control when it comes to your car insurance premium, such as your location, age, and gender, there are numerous things you can do to reduce your rates. Applying for all available discounts, keeping an eye on your credit score, reducing the number of miles you drive each year, avoiding accidents and lapses in coverage, and choosing a higher deductible all help lower your premium. Of course, the best thing you can do to get a good rate on Oklahoma auto insurance is to shop around and compare quotes before taking out a policy.