Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Utah?
Insurance companies in Utah can use your credit score to help predict the level of risk you pose. From your credit score, your carrier creates an insurance score used to determine how likely you are to file a claim and how high your premiums need to be to mitigate this risk. Not all insurance carriers use credit scores in the same way or give poor scores the same weight. If you have questions, ask your insurance provider.
Does Utah offer a good-driver discount?
If it’s been a few years since your last accident or moving violation, you probably qualify for a discount on your auto insurance. Ask your agent if you’re eligible for lower rates. And, while you’ve got them on the phone, inquire about other discounts that may reduce the amount you pay for your coverage, such as:
- Hybrid/Alternative Fuel
- Advanced Shopping
- New Car
- Passive Restraint
- Anti-Theft Recovery Device
- Good Student
- Distant Student
- SMART Driver
- Defensive Driving Course
- Accident Free
- Anti-Lock Brake
- Home Ownership
- Full Pay
- Resident Student
- Vehicle Safety
- Utility Discount
Does Utah allow the use of digital insurance cards?
It’s mandatory that you can provide proof of auto insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer, but the format doesn’t matter. A paper or plastic ID card or a digital card displayed on a mobile electronic device are all acceptable forms of proof.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
You cannot allow your coverage to lapse in Utah. If you’re convicted of driving without insurance, your license and vehicle registration may be suspended and you’ll be required to pay hefty reinstatement fees. Failure to provide insurance or operator’s security in Utah is a class B misdemeanor, requiring a minimum fine of $400 for a first offense and $1,000 for a second or subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction.
What are Utah's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s against the law to drive in Utah at the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ at 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ at under 21 years old
When it comes to drunk driving, Utah has the strictest laws in the nation. In early 2017, the State voted to lower the legal driving BAC from 0.08 to 0.05 percent. The lower limit also applies to anyone carrying a dangerous weapon, such as a gun. The new law takes effect on December 30, 2018.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Utah?
Like most other states, Utah has an implied consent law that means the moment you applied for a driver’s license, you agreed to provide samples of your breath, blood, or urine to determine your BAC. Refusal to submit to a chemical test may result in revocation of your driver’s license and mandatory use of an ignition interlock device.
Does Utah offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Studies consistently show that drivers who participate in defensive driving courses average fewer collisions and driving arrests than motorists who don’t take a driver improvement course. For this reason, most insurance companies offer discounts to customers who have completed one of these state-approved courses. Ask your carrier how you can reduce your premium by taking a driver improvement class.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Utah car insurance?
There are lots of ways to reduce the cost of your auto insurance. Sometimes, it takes time to improve your credit score and let points fall off your record. If your credit and driving history are fine, there are other things you can right now to lower your rates.
Start by signing up for any discounts you’re eligible for, and then choose a higher deductible to lower your monthly payments. And, of course, it’s extremely important to shop around every time your policy comes up for renewal; you won’t know if there’s a lower quote out there until you look around.