call

How Many Points Is a Speeding Ticket in Ohio?

A speeding ticket is two or four points in Ohio depending on the severity of the violation. The costs can vary from county to county. Other cost determinants include how far over the speed limit you were traveling at the time of the infraction and the zone in which you were driving. The cost of your insurance will likely go up from a speeding ticket as you will be deemed a higher risk. Keep in mind you can lose your license if you get 12 points on your license within two years. While you can get it back, the process is lengthy, beginning with a six-month probation period. You can contest your ticket, but keep in mind it could be an uphill fight. You can potentially get points removed from your license early by taking a driver safety course, which could remove two points from your license. Keep reading to get more comprehensive information on how tickets affect your insurance and what your options are should you get one.

How Many Points Are Speeding Tickets in Ohio?

The number of points issued for speeding depends on the county you're in, what the speed limit is and how far over the speed limit you were driving. In fact, it's possible you may not be assessed any points even if you get a speeding ticket:

Here is a table breaking down the penalties by seed limit and miles over said speed limit.

Speed Limit

1-5 mph over

6-10 mph over

11-29 mph over

30 mph or more over

Below 55 mph

No points

Two points

Two points

Four points

55 mph or more

No points

No points

Two points

Four points

Experienced drivers with clean records usually pay the least for car insurance coverage.

How Much Does a Speeding Ticket in Ohio Cost

The cost of a speeding ticket varies by county, the severity of the violation and the zone in which you're driving. Warren county, for example, breaks down ticket costs and mandatory court appearances as follows:

Recorded Speed

1-15 Miles Over

16-30 Miles Over

31-34 Miles Over

Over 35 Miles Over

Ticket Amount

$175.00

$195.00

$235.00

Court Appearance

2nd Offense in 12 Months

$285.00

$285.00

$285.00

Court Appearance

3rd Offense in 12 Months

Mandatory Court Appearance

Mandatory Court Appearance

Mandatory Court Appearance

Mandatory Court Appearance

School Zone 1st Offense

$235.00

Mandatory Court Appearance

Mandatory Court Appearance

Mandatory Court Appearance

Construction Zones

$225.00

$265.00

$335.00

Mandatory Court Appearance

The number of points issued for speeding depends on the county you're in, what the speed limit is and how far over the speed limit you were driving.

Will My Insurance Increase Because of a Speeding Ticket?

Your car insurance will most likely increase because of a speeding ticket. Things like speeding tickets show up on your driving record. Your driving record is your driving history which includes moving violations, accidents, and so on. Insurance companies look at driving records to determine your car insurance rate. The amount that your auto insurance will increase after a speeding ticket varies amongst insurance companies. Some factors most insurers will take into consideration include:

  • Your driving history

  • If the ticket was your first offense

  • How long it's been since your last infraction

  • How many miles per hour you were going over the speed limit

Experienced drivers with clean records usually pay the least for car insurance coverage. If there are several dings on your record, an insurance company will deem you a higher risk which in turn raises your premiums. You could also lose coverage should you commit repeated traffic violations.

How Long Does it Take for Points to Come Off Your License in Ohio?

Points will come off your license after two years. This tends to be the case in every state. Of course, you can still accumulate more points over time for various moving violations. However, as long as you maintain a clean driving record, the points will drop from your record.

Get Free Insurance Rate Quotes Today

What Happens if You Have Too Many Points on Your License in Ohio?

Too many points on your license could result in your license being suspended for six months. Specifically, the suspension occurs if you get 12 points in a two-year period. Below is a breakdown of the license reinstatement procedure:

  • You will serve a six-month suspension

  • You will complete a remedial driving course

  • You will file a certificate of insurance (SR-22)*

  • You will pay a reinstatement fee

  • You will retake the drivers licensing exam

Note: An SR-22 is a form your insurance carrier files on your behalf, as a way of letting the government know whether or not you're insured.

Your car insurance will most likely increase because of a speeding ticket.

Should You Contest a Speeding Ticket?

This is entirely up to you. The problem with fighting a speeding ticket is the fact that police use sophisticated radar guns that read a vehicle's speed as it passes. While you can fight a speeding ticket, you will be fighting an uphill battle. It is possible, however, to get a reduced fine if you don't have a prior offense.

If you don't think you are guilty of a moving violation, the first step is to request a hearing from the clerk of court. You will need to provide your name, address, phone number and citation number. Once you have requested a hearing, you will need to appear in court on the date and time specified. At the hearing, you will have the opportunity to explain why you believe you are not guilty of the violation.

The judge will then decide based on the evidence presented. If you are found guilty, you will be required to pay the fine. However, if you are found not guilty, the charge will be dismissed and you will not have to pay any fines.

Tips To Remove Points From Your Record

You can enroll in a driver safety course to lessen the number of points on your license. In fact, every course will remove two points from your license. You can enroll the moment you have at least two points. Remember, you have to enroll before you get 12 points, otherwise, you will be ineligible for the course. Also, you can only take the course five times in the course of your life. You also can't take the course more than once every three years.

Points will come off your license after two years, but you can still accumulate more points if you're not careful.

Speeding Ticket FAQs

Will points carry over from one state to another?

Yes. Your points will likely carry over to another state if you do not fight the charges. If you do fight the charge, you may have to attend a court hearing in that other state.

Are there states that don't use a license point system?

Yes. States like Mississippi, Louisiana, and Hawaii do not use a point system. However, they will track your driving history.

Make Sure You're Covered

Speeding tickets vary depending on where in Ohio you live, how fast you were going and what zone you were driving in. Receiving a speeding ticket will typically put two to four points on your license depending on your speed and location. Keep in mind your insurance will likely go up once you receive points on your license. However, you can decrease the number of points on your license by taking a driver safety course. Two points will be removed for every course you take. You could also contest your ticket in court but it will be a difficult fight considering the equipment the police use to track speed. If you have points on your license and are paying a higher rate, you may be able to save up to 40% in car insurance. Enter your zip code below and fill out a quick questionnaire to receive free car insurance quotes for the lowest rates in your area.

Get a Free Auto Insurance Quote Online Now.

auto

Looking for Auto Insurance?

Compare rates from dozens of companies in less than 3 minutes.