Is my credit score a factor when obtaining car insurance in Kentucky?
Yes. This is because insurance companies believe people with poor credit are more likely to file a claim. They use your credit score when determining your insurance score. It is this insurance score that is used to calculate your rates.
Does Kentucky offer a good-driver discount?
Insurance companies offer a variety of discounts to customers, and some of these can result in big price breaks on your premium. One of the most common discounts is a good-driver discount, which is generally given to motorists with no moving violations or at-fault accidents for several years. Other discounts may include:
- Driver Education Course
- Alternative Fuel / Hybrid Car Discount
- Multi-line Policy Discount (Home and Auto on the Same Policy)
- New Car Discount
- Anti-Lock Brake Discount
- Anti-Theft Discount
- Accident Free Discount
- Continuous Car Insurance Discount
- Good Student Discount
- Electronic Stability Control Discount
- Organization or Club Membership Discount
- Passive Restraint
- Vehicle Safety
- Home Ownership
Does Kentucky allow the use of digital insurance cards?
Kentucky law allows insurers to provide you with proof of insurance electronically, and it allows you to prove you have insurance by showing your electronic ID card on your phone or other mobile device.
What happens if my coverage lapses?
Allowing your coverage to lapse or failure to maintain the proper amount of insurance in Kentucky can result in monetary fines, jail time, and other severe penalties.
What are Kentucky’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage limits under the state's driving under the influence (DUI) laws?
It’s illegal to drive in Kentucky with the following BAC percentages:
.08%+ for 21 years old or older
.04%+ for commercial vehicle drivers
.02%+ for under 21 years old
Drivers can be convicted of DUI in Kentucky at levels lower than 0.08 if there’s evidence of impairment. Plus, a DUI in Kentucky can be charged for driving while under the influence of any substance that impairs driving, including prescription medications, gasoline, glue, OTC drugs, spray paint, etc.
What are the chemical test refusal penalties in Kentucky?
As is common across the U.S., Kentucky is an “implied consent” state. This means that by operating a motor vehicle, you are considered to have given consent to blood, breath, and urine testing for the purpose of determining your BAC or the presence of another impairing substance. If you refuse to take one of these tests, you will lose your license for up to 120 days for the first offense and up to 60 months for a 4th offense within a five-year period.
What are the consequences of being convicted of a DUI?
For a first offense DUI in Kentucky, you may receive a fine of up to $500, 2 to 30 days in jail, 90 days of alcohol or drug abuse treatment, and 30 to 120 days of license suspension. You may also receive up to 30 days of community service. The penalties increase with each offense within a 10-year period, with a 4th offense considered a Class D Felony that carries a minimum of 120 days in jail, 60 months without a license, and a year of substance abuse treatment.
Does Kentucky offer driver improvement courses to reduce my insurance premium?
Kentucky insurance providers may offer discounts to drivers who voluntarily complete a defensive driving course. Make sure any course you take is approved by the state and that your insurer allows for a discount.
Is there any way I can reduce the cost of my Kentucky car insurance?
If you’re like many, you’re probably paying too much for your car insurance. Shop around for the best rates and discounts, and ask for higher deductibles to save money. Also, maintain a good credit record, reduce coverage on older vehicles, and pay your bill upfront to save even more.